Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Series I Keep Meaning to Start

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

Technically this week is Top Ten Books Read So Far This Year… but seeing as I haven’t read ten so far I’m going to cheat and do last week’s missed topic instead!

white cat

  1. White Cat – #1 The Curseworkers by Holly Black

A long time ago I started the first book in this series after borrowing it from the library. I was really intrigued by it but then it got recalled and I never got chance to get beyond the first couple of chapters. I’ve never managed to get hold of it again and I’m reluctant to buy it as I never got along with the Spiderwick Chronicles – but I hear good things!

house of shattered

  1. The House of Shattered Wings #1 Dominion of the Fallen by Aliette de Bodard

I was first drawn to this series by the original cover – which is very, very beautiful (see above). But the synopsis sounded very cool too, I’ve seen some glowing reviews and it looks like she’s got some interesting world-building going on here. Definitely worth a shot.

midnight-never-come

  1. Midnight Never Come #1 Onyx Court by Marie Brennan

I absolutely adored Brennan’s other series The Memoirs of Lady Trent and was delighted to learn there was more to her back catalogue – since drafting this post I have actually picked up the first book. I’m part way through and enjoying it so far!

 Vorrh

  1. The Vorrh Trilogy #1 by B Catling

I picked up the first one in this series as a buy one get one half price at Waterstones when I finally gave in and bought The Watchmaker of Filigree Street (one of my favourite reads of 2016). The cover is incredibly plain but the synopsis grabbed me and I’ve seen some good reviews addressing its weird and wonderful world.

The Fifth Season

  1. The Fifth Season #1 The Broken Earth by N K Jemesin

I’ve really enjoyed her Dreamblood duology and I’m partway through the first book of her Kingdoms trilogy. The Fifth Season is the next logical step and – from what Jess over at Curiouser and Curiouser tells me – it’s going to be fairly amazing. Jemisin is known for her worldbuilding and complex characters but it seems like she may have outdone herself here. My boyfriend got me the first two books for Christmas so they’re fairly high up my TBR.

Study in charlotte

  1. A Study in Charlotte #1 Charlotte Holmes by Brittany Cavallaro

I’m a bit of a sucker for a decent Sherlock Holmes retelling and this one has very good reviews (and a great cover). A young, teenage, female descendent of the original Sherlock solving mysteries in the present day. It sounds like it could be fun and I’m interested in how the author balances the modern interpretation with the canon legacy.

Assassin

  1. Assassin’s Apprentice #1 The Farseer Trilogy by Robin Hobb

If you’re a fan of the fantasy genre you’re eventually going to have to read Robin Hobb. I never seem to get around to it – her expanded universe is astonishing in its scope so I will have to read it eventually, if only to stop Dan talking my ear off. I even took the first book out of the library – but I never quite seem to get around to it….

savage

  1. This Savage Song #1 Monsters of Verity by V. E. Schwab

This is actually waiting in my library TBR pile so I’m going to have to read it very soon. I love Schwab’s work – her Shades of Magic series is one of the best things I’ve read and I’m just about to reread book one and two in anticipation of starting the no doubt fantastic concluding book. I also really need to read Vicious because there’s a second book coming up in the near future and I’ve heard nothing but good things. Basically, all the Schwab guys.

Rosemary and Rue

  1. Rosemary and Rue #1 October Daye by Seanan Maguire

I have previously read Maguire’s novel Feed under her other penname of Mira Grant (thanks Jess for the Jesscommendation!) and I’m eager to have a look at some of her other work. I’ve heard great things about this series and it looks like it’ll be a great read. I’m also a sucker for well done urban fantasy in all of its forms.

porcelain

  1. The Boy with the Porcelain Blade #1 Erebus Sequence by Den Patrick

I actually also have the first three books of this series sitting in my library TBR pile. I started the first book at the end of 2015, I was intrigued by the opening and I liked the world building. But then, one thing or another got in the way and I still haven’t finished it – it needs to happen soon though!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Series I Keep Meaning to Start

  1. Nice list, Nat! Midnight Never Come, Assassin’s Apprentice and Rosemary and Rue are all on my TBR – I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying Midnight Never Come so far as I have a copy sitting on my shelf. You definitely need to read The Fifth Season, it’s so good, I think you’ll like it a lot. =)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, my, I love the Toby Daye series so much! You should definitely give it a shot. Eventually. 😉 I have some new series that have been waiting for me to work through my ‘already started series’ back log, too. So many books, so little time! My TTT

    Like

Leave a Reply

