Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books on my Autumn TBR

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

This week we’re looking ahead to the books we’re going to read in the last quarter of the year. My To Be Read List is always growing, but these are ten books that are near the top at the moment, so I’m hoing yo get to them within the next couple of months. I’ll be updating my TBR page later to incorporate the books that I didn’t finish from my spring list (an unfortunately high number). But I seem to be doing better at reading fiction in the second half of the year, so I’m optimistic about how many I’m going to get through – I might still hit my 100 book target!

crooked

1. The Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I seem to have been waiting for this book forever, but it’s finally arriving today! I’m really looking forward to some more great dialogue, fun world-building and hopefully a satisfactory resolution to the cliff-hanger Bardugo left us on at the end of the first book.

burning

2. The Burning Page by Genevieve Cogman

I’m looking forward to this even though it doesn’t seem that long since I read book two. Cogman’s Library books are such a quick but satisfying read and I’m hoping for more of Irene’s adventures in this next book – though perhaps not amongst the chaos worlds of the last novel.

the hanging tree

3. The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch

The publication date for this is all over the place so I can’t be sure it will even be released in time to be on my Autumn TBR list, but I’m hopeful! I’ve missed the antics of The Folly’s inhabitants and I want to find out what’s been happening with Lesley whilst Peter was out in the country. I’m probably going to have to do a series reread before I dive back into it though.

spindle

4. Spindle by E.K. Johnston

After discovering Johnston’s wonderful style of narration in an ARC copy of A Thousand Nights, I’m really looking forward to what she does with this companion novel set in the same universe. The fact that it’s linked to a sleeping beauty retelling is really interesting too!

fate of the tearling

5. Fate of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

The conclusion to Johansen’s Tearling Trilogy seems to be getting mixed advance reviews – especially in relation to the ending. But I’m still really looking forward to reading it and getting answers to the questions raised in the first book.

Once and Future King.jpg

6. The Once and Future King by T H White

I’m ashamed to admit that this has been on my shelf for ages and I’ve been meaning to read it for years. I started it last year and I was really enjoying the unusual narrative style, but I got distracted and never carried on. I’m determined to finish it this time!

midnight never come.jpg

7. Midnight Never Come by Marie Brennan

I was delighted to find that Brennan had previously published another series, especially another historical fantasy one. I’m going to miss the scientific bent of the Lady Trent books, but it definitely seems to be worth a read!

savage

8. This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

I need to get to this one quickly as my library copy has been reserved, but I’m looking forward to diving into another of Schwab’s universes. I’ve loved her Shades of Magic books and I’m determined to get my hands on a copy of Vicious.

The kingdoms

9. The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemesin

I’m reading this one at the moment, it’s very different to her Dreamblood series but equally as compelling and I’m enjoying the unusual narrative style. Hopefully I end up enjoying just as much and it’ll mean I’ve got a complete trilogy to work through before moving on to The Fifth Season and it’s sequels.

smiler's fair.jpg

10. Smiler’s Fair by Rebecca Levine

This is another one I’ve had for ages, but I’m picking it up now I’ve managed to get a copy of the second book from the library. I’ve seen lots of good reviews and I’m hoping for the start of another great series!

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books on my Autumn TBR

Leave a Reply

