Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books STILL On My TBR List

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

This week is a bit of a walk of shame – Top Ten Books That Have Been On Your Shelf (Or TBR) From Before You Started Blogging That You STILL Haven’t Read Yet.

grief is the thing with feathers

1. Grief is a thing with Feathers by Max Porter

I’m going to read this, even if I’m fairly sure it’s going to break my heart. The reviews for it are very strong and I love the sound of the storyline. It should make for a very interesting and poetic read.

big magic

2. Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert

This one was going big just as I started this blog. It’s something that appeals to me, accepting your creativity and revelling in it, though it’s not something that is promoted in our more business-minded society. It’s quite a slim volume so I it wouldn’t take long to read – I really need to get round to it.

angela carters

3. Angela Carter’s Books of Fairy Tales

I enjoyed Angela Carter’s short story collection The Bloody Chamber when I read it for my degree and I always meant to read some more. This fairy tale collection is right up my street and I’ve dipped into it a couple of times, the illustrations are lovely.

4. The Tennant of Wildfell Hall by

The old wayslandmarks

5. The Old Ways/Landmarks by Robert Macfarlane

I’ve had these for an age. I’ve read a little of both and the prose is beautiful, but I have to be in the right mind-set for nature writing and I haven’t found it again yet. I’m on a novel kick at the moment, but maybe in winter when it’s grey and dark and I’m missing the greenery this will remind me that sometimes Britain really is beautiful.

rest of us just live here

6. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

I’ve finally picked up a copy of this from the library so I will get to it soon I promise! I’ve meant to read some Patrick Ness for years, but I got out of the habit of reading YA and it’s took a bit of time to get back to finding the books I like within the genre rather than just what’s popular. I’ve seen mixed reviews for this one but I like the concept – we’ll see how it goes.

kg7

7. The Glass God by Kate Griffin

I enjoyed the first book in this spin-off series but I wasn’t as in love with it as the original Matthew Swift books. The protagonist was fun and the concept was great but it just didn’t grab me. I’m planning a reread of the Swift series though, so maybe that will give my the impetus to finally get round to this one.

Clariel

8. Clariel by Garth Nix

I was waiting for this one for ages, my boyfriend even bought it for me the day it was released. I intended to reread the full series before starting this one but I only ever got as far as partway through Lirael (I’d forgotten quite how whiny she was right at the beginning). I do need to go back to complete the reread though as there’s Goldenhand at the end of the tunnel…

815D5sneiNL__SL1500_

9. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

This is the book that has been on my TBR list the longest, I picked it up for a £1 not long after it was released when I was buying another book at Waterstones. I’ve seen so many good reviews for it, I’ve even taken it on holiday a few times but I’ve just never read it.

the-gormenghast-trilogy

10. The Gormenghast Trilogy by Mervyn Peake

A classic and one I’ve been meaning to read for a while. I bought this Vintage addition ages ago when it was on offer, but I’ve just never got round to reading it…oops? That cover’s beautiful though isn’t it?

2 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books STILL On My TBR List

  1. I ADORE The Old Kingdom books infinitely. Clariel was great but it wasn’t quite up to par with the other books. I have a feeling it’ll be important in Goldenhand though and I hope I’m right 😀 I still need to read The Night Circus too and The Rest of Us Just Live Here too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

