Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Sequels I can’t Wait To Get My Hands On

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

It’s a TTT rewind week, meaning that we can choose any of the topics that have previously been done. As I’ve got a surprising amount of series on the go at the moment I’ve gone for Top Ten(Twelve) Sequels I Can’t Wait To Get My Hands On…

crooked

1.  Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

I’ve been desperate for this book ever since the last page of Six of Crows. We were left on a hell of a cliffhanger and I can’t wait to see how Kaz and the gang get out of it this time!

goldenhand

2. Goldenhand by Garth Nix

This is hopefully going to be the book we all wished Clariel was – Lirael is back amongst the Clair, there’s a Witch with No Face and Nicholas in trouble. I have high hopes for this!

the hanging tree

3. The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch

We’re back in London for this one, here’s hoping for more of Leslie and the faceless man, more of Peter’s family and perhaps finally discovering what really happened to Nightingale in Germany…

burning

4. The Burning Page by Genevieve Cogman

We left Irene in a state of some disgrace at the end of The Masked City. In trouble with her superiors and hunted by a figure from the Library’s nightmares things will be very precarious when we return to our heroes…

spindle

5. Spindle by E. k. Johnston

A companion novel to my much raved about 5* read – A Thousand Nights. The action here takes place decades after and in a slightly different part of the world. This looks like a fascinating take on Sleeping Beauty and I can’t wait to read more of Johnston’s beautiful writing.

invasion of the tearling

6. The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen

I haven’t reviewed the first book here yet, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that it was utterly fantastic. I loved Kelsea, bookish and quite stern, she is a very different sort of female leader to those that have populated the book world lately and the Guard’s antics were a true pleasure.

The Dream Thieves

7. The Dream Thieves by Maggie Steifvater

I put off reading the Raven cycle for ages, fearing that it might fail under all the hype. I needn’t have worried – I’m near the end of Book One and have already reserved the rest of the series from the library.

conjuring of light.jpg

8. A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab

I’m hoping for a really strong conclusion to this wonderful trilogy. AGOS left us in a very dark place and things were uncertain for all of our main characters, there’s no guarantee of a happy ending here…

The Ship Beyond Time

9. The Ship Beyond Time by Heidi Heilig

I was lucky enough to get the first book in the series as Read Now on Netgalley and was delighted to find a fun, fast paced read. I’m not sure where Heilig will take Nix’s story now but I’m more than happy to be along for the ride.

orbit

10. A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

Sadly I didn’t manage to get the ARC for the sequel to my much loved Long Way, so I’ll just have to wait with everyone else for the release later this year. I’m intrigued to see how Chambers deals with the split in the dynamic of such a tight-nit crew, what will Lovelace do now?

city of blades

11. City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett

I’ve actually already got this one but I want to reread the first book – City of Stairs – before going any further, both because it’s a better reading experience but also because I just love it so much!

tropic of serpents

12. Tropic of Serpents by Marie Brennan

Another new addition to the list, the first book was just a lot of fun and thanks once more to the library reservation system I’m eager to dive more into Brennan’s world. A seamless blend of scholarship, Victorian adventuring and DRAGONS.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Sequels I can’t Wait To Get My Hands On

  1. OMG GOLDENHAND! I can not wait to be reunited with Lirael, Nicholas, the Clayr and that witch…I have an idea who she will be and I hope I’m right 😀 Also dying to read ACOL and I can’t wait to read your thoughts on Raven Boys, Dream Thieves ALL OF IT!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

