Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

So this is a goodie and one booklovers everywhere would gladly volunteer for – Top Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card.

choose your own penguin classics.jpg

1. The Pick your own Penguin Classics Collection

I own some of these, its becoming a policy of mine to buy in hardback when I can after some of my much loved paperbacks started to fall apart. So these beautiful hardbacks are a definite plus and being able to build you own order around what you already have (rather than having to buy them individually for a painful price) sounds like a great idea for me.

tropic of serpentsvoyage of the basiliskin the labyrinth of the drakes

2. Memoirs of Lady Trent Series by Marie Brennan

I’ve just read the first book in this series – A Natural History of Dragons – it was a really brilliant read in a very unusual format. The illustrations are stunning and the adventures are fun, I’m desperate to find out what happens in the next books.

Study in charlotte

3. A Study in Charlotte by Brittany Cavallaro

This came up in my suggested purchases on Amazon and actually looks very cool. I’ve seen a lot of Sherlock Holmes retellings around bookshops over the last few years, but this one has good reviews and an interesting premise.

invasion of the tearlingfate of the tearling

4. The Tearling Trilogy by Erika Johansen

I had the first book in the series in my library TBR pile for ages, but I finally got around to reading it last week and now I’m hooked. Kelsea is a great protagonist and I love all her interactions with the various members of her Queen’s guard. There’s some really intriguing world=building here which I’m very invested in seeing develop further. I need access to the next books pronto!

The kingdomsThe Fifth Season

5. N.K. Jemisin entire back catalogue

I’ve been meaning to read some of Jemisin’s work for years and just never got round to it. But over the last couple of months I managed to get my hands on the Dreamblood series and now I’m in love with her worldbuilding and her writing style – just sublime.

seer and the sword

6. The Seer and the Sword by Victoria Hanley – original Cover

This is something of a nostalgic purchase. I loved this book when I read it from the library years ago and although the other books in the series weren’t really up to much, this one definitely stands up to rereading. Sadly this cover is no longer in print, but the new one isn’t a patch on the original. There are original copies out there but they’re a bit pricey, hello ultimate giftcard.

cybele's secret.jpg

7. Cybele’s Secret by Juliet Marillier

I loved this book when I first read it, it was the first Marillier book I got my mitts on but the only one I’ve read but not owned. I recently picked it up at the library for a reread, but I’d like a copy of my own!

SourceryEqual riteswyrd sisters

8. Complete my collection of Terry Pratchett’s Discworld books

I’ve read almost all of the Discworld books (apart from Eric – no I don’t know why) and I’ve bought most of them over the years, but my collection is  not complete – this would be the perfect opportunity to correct that problem!

storm-frontfool mOONgrave perilsummer-knight-jim-butcher

9. Jim Butcher back catalogue (original covers)

Jim Butcher is probably the one author I’ve read the most books from without owning any. Over the last year I’ve started to rectify that, I bought a copy of Princeps Fury and The Aeronaut’s Windlass and I stumbled on free copies of Storm Front and Furies of Calderon. But the rest are still up for grabs.

Theft of swords

10.  The Riyria Revelations by Michael J Sullivan

I’ve been craving a reread of this series for a while – I’m also fairly sure I never got my hands on the final book so I need to finish it! They’ve proved difficult to track down through the library so have definitely earned their place on this list!

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books You’d Buy Right This Second If Someone Handed You A Fully Loaded Gift Card

  1. Those Penguin classics are gorgeous! I still need to read The Memoirs of Lady Trent, Study in Charlotte, Queen of the Tearling and Marillier though all of those are on my wishlist/tbr shelf 🙂 GREAT picks^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

