Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year

 

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

This week’s topic is Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For The Second Half Of The Year. I’ve missed  out on the last couple of topics as I was struggling – but I found this one a bit easier . I’m actually quite well prepared this year and I’ve preordered a few books so I managed to write a good portion of this from my Amazon lists!

the hanging tree

1. The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch

Arghhh, why do they keep moving the release date? This is nearly as bad as The Winds of Winter! Well, no, that’s extreme. But it seems to be ages since we last had a new PC Grant novel. I’m really looking forward to this one as well because we’ll be back in London. Foxglove Summer was fun but it will be good to be back in the city again with all the gang – please let us see more of Leslie!

crooked

2. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Another one I’m really looking forward to! After that cliffhanger at the end of Six of Crows, I’m on tenterhooks to see what happens now to Kaz and the gang. I’m also intrigued to see where Bardugo takes us next – the first book revolved entirely around a heist but I’m not sure if she’ll follow the same direction for this one.

chamber.jpg

3. Harry Potter and The Chamber of Secrets (Illustrated) by J.K. Rowling & Jim Kay

This is one that I’m looking forward to more for the artwork than the story – I’ve read the original so many times but these illustrated editions are brilliantly done. We’ve got new characters this time round and I’d love to see how Kay does Lockhart, the basilisk and Aragog. Harry Potter in full colour is beautiful!

burning

4. The Burning Page by Genevieve Cogman

The third instalment in The Invisible Library Series and the second in a year – aren’t we lucky? We left Irene and Kai in a tenuous position at the end of the last book and I’m baffled to see how they were going to get out of it. But the blurb for this new one has Irene back out and about on Library business, the blurb also mentions the French revolution, the Winter Palace and there’s some intriguing tigers on the front cover – this one looks very, very good.

muse.jpg

5. The Muse by Jessie Burton

I was surprised and pleased to discover that Jessie Burton’s debut was worth every word of hype. Now I’m hoping that The Muse will be just as good. The premise looks fascinating, the cover is lovely and if her prose is half as beautiful as last time it will be well worth the wait.

neverwhere.jpg

6. Neverwhere (illustrated Edition) by Neil Gaiman

Another one I’m after for the art. Gaiman’s Neverwhere is one of my favourite books of all time, Chris Riddell is one of my favourite artists and I’ve been hoping for this collaboration ever since Riddell posted some character illustrations on his twitter feed. I’m not sure how I feel about his version of Door, but I still want to see how he has interpreted the other characters and Gaiman’s madcap underground world.

orbit

7. A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers

The excitement levels for this one are beyond explanation – A Long Way To A Small Angry Planet was unexpectedly wonderful and packed with heart. The announcement that we were going to get a companion novel completely made my day. I’m hoping we get to see more of the crew along with the compelling side characters from the first novel and meet some new ones along the way.

goldenhand

8. Goldenhand by Garth Nix

I think my love of the Abhorsen series is well known by now. The announcement of Clariel initially fooled me that it was a sequel, but now here it is, the one we’ve been waiting for – for YEARS. Please, please let it be good. Lets see some grown up Lirael and the gang and please, please give me more Queen Sabriel!

spindle

9. Spindle by E.k. Johnston

This is one I wasn’t expecting. A Thousand Nights seemed to clearly be a standalone novel, but Johnston has gone about it in a very clever way. Spindle is set decades (it might even by centuries) after the events of the first book, we’ve got new characters, a new plot but we’re still dealing with some of the concerns of the first novel. It sounds really cool and, considering I rated the first book as 5+ stars (review here), I’m desperate to read it!

savage.jpg

10. This Savage Song by V.E. Schwab

This one has actually just come out – but I’m counting it because it’s in June and I’m on a bit of a Schwab kick atm – I’ve just reread ADSOM and read GoS for the first time. They were so, so good I’m ready to devour just about everything she writes!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases for the Second Half of the Year

  1. OMG HELL YES TO ALL YOUR GOLDENHAND COMMENTS – in case it wasn’t obvious, it made my list this week too. I LOVE chatting with fellow Old Kingdom fans ♥ Harry Potter was another given for me this week 🙂 As was This Savage Song! SO many awesome books this year!! xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Your’s was a great list too! Unfortunately it’s not letting me comment – so you may get several replies from me on your blog or none! Needless to say – yes to Harry Potter and Goldenhand, I really want to get my hands on Illuminae and some Laini Taylor. I was actually looking for the third ADSOM book when I stumbled on Song so it was a pleasant surprise! xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

