#BookBuddyAthon TBR

The #BookBuddyAthon is a read-a-thon created on YouTube by Samantha @ Cold Tea and Crumbs and Elena @ Elena Reads Books. The official read-a-thon is running all this week, from the 7th-13th May. My lovely friend Jess @ Curiouser and Curiouser  spotted it and I happily got roped in to be her buddy. This is the way it generally goes, Jess mentions something blog related and  I jump on the bandwagon – she gets involved with lots of interesting stuff so go take a look! Here’s the link to her post with the books she’s chosen.

Whilst the official read-a-thon ends today, we’ve decided to spread our read-a-thon out over the month instead. We’ve both got too much on to do this over the week and we really wanted to hit all the challenges, because they’re really interesting!

The #BookBuddyAthon challenges are:

1. Read a book with your buddy

portableshelter

A Portable Shelter

by Kirsty Logan

For the book we’re both going to read we picked Kirsty Logan’s beautiful short story collection. It’s a good one to dip in and out of amongst the other books and we’ve both been meaning to read it for a while!

2. Read a book with your buddy’s favourite colour on the cover

The old ways

The Old Ways: A Journey on Foot

by Robert Macfarlane

Jess likes citrusy colours so I’ve gone for this lime covered edition of   some of Robert Macfarlane’s nature writing. I’ve read snippets of his work before and it seems wonderfully lyrical. It’s another one I’ve been meaning to read for a while too!

3. Read a book that begins with your buddy’s first (second) initial

A Gathering of Shadows Final

A Gathering of Shadows

by V.E. Schwab

I got stuck when I tried to go for a book beginning with J for Jess but I struck gold with G for A Gathering of Shadows. I’m already working my way through a re-read of the first book, so this is the first challenge I’m going to try and complete.

4. Pick three books you want to read, and read the one your buddy picks for you

the mirror empire

The Mirror Empire

by Kameron Hurley

The three options I gave Jess were all from my Spring TBR – the others being Robin McKinley’s Spindle’s End and N K Jemisin’s The Killing Moon. But this was Jess’ pick for me. She says she’s heard good things so I’m eager to find out if they’re right!

5. Read a book you want to read

th_b_bennett_cityofstairs_UK

City of Stairs: #1 Divine Cities

by Robert Jackson Bennett

This series was next up on my list for a reread before I dive into the second book. I loved the first one – it’s up there with my favourite books of all time -and I’ve seen some very high ratings in the reviews coming up for the second one so I’m hoping it’s just as good!

One thought on “#BookBuddyAthon TBR

Leave a Reply

