Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten non book related websites

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

I was intrigued by this week’s topic and I struggled to think of any at first but then I got on a bit of a roll…

  1. Ravelry –A life saver for anyone who enjoys knitting or crochet – free patterns intermingled with all sorts of helpful resources! I stumbled on this by accident and it’s definitely responsible for me learning to crochet and relearning to knit. Both great things to do in the many hours I spend on public transport, especially if my eyes are aching too much to read.
  2. IMDB – Where would I be without this website? It’s very rare that I go through a day without needing to work out where I’ve seen an actor/actress before and this has all the answers. Also it’s the way I disprove my dad’s constant conflation of actors – sometimes I think he believes everyone in every period drama is essentially played by the same actor – thank goodness for internet based evidence that it’s not.
  3. YouTube: Music – If I had to buy all the music I listen to I would be incredibly broke. But thank the lord there’s YouTube, saving me from silence and letting me find such gems as this edition of Amber Run’s ‘I Found’ which gives me serious chills.
  4. YouTube: Long Hair Community – So you may not know but I have very long hair, somewhere between tailbone and classic in length. The long hair community on YouTube is an absolute lifesaver for me and packed with fascinating tutorials on very cool styles. But amongst all the fancy ones my favourite is still the Nautilus Bun. Simple, but hugely effective. I can put my hair up without any bobbles or anything – a revelation that has saved me from accidentally multicolouring the end of my hair with paint on many MANY occasions.
  5. Netflix/Amazon Video/Sky Go – I’ve almost always got one of these open. I work best with some sort of programme/movie in the background – although preferably something I’ve seen before. It makes great white noise, even if it means I find myself laughing in the middle of a poem and have to rewind the programme to find what amused me…..
  6. Canva – regularly saves my life for blog graphics and there’s some great layouts on there for sizing up leaflets/banners and things for my work with Litfest. It’s a lot of fun just to putter around on there too!
  7. BBCfood/DeliaOnline – I pretty much live on food websites when I’m trying to work out the weekly shop. Whether that is a new recipe or just checking the ingredients for an old one, these are lifesavers.
  8. Pika la Cynique’s Girl’s Next Door – A really fun comic that frequently breaks the 4th wall (and then jumps up and down on it with glee). There are pages in there that are absolutely hilarious – especially this one. The gags make the most sense if you’ve read the pages following up to them but it’s also a good one to dip in and out of.
  9. Chris Riddell’s Tumblr I adore this man’s work. His illustrations are just beautiful and he posts on his Tumblr very frequently. Reading it makes me drown in art envy because it’s SO GOOD.
  10. Ancestry – I do a lot of genealogy – both our own and some freelance work – and Ancestry is pretty much indispensable. From a social history point of view the wealth of information available is astounding and a little bit like going down the rabbit hole.
3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten non book related websites

  1. I just found your blog through The Broke and the Bookish and thought it was neat because my name is Natalie too! I also have been on the Long Hair Community forum before and my hair is the same length as yours (tail bone/classic).

    Like

    • Hello hair/name twin! Thanks for commenting! Your TTT was also very cool – Kayley Melissa has some great hairstyles and I’m definitely going to check out some of the others!

      Like

Leave a Reply

