Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Childhood characters I’d love to revisit as adults

2Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

I am oh so late with this one – but it was a great subject so I still wanted to post my list!

garth nix sabriel

1. Sabriel (Abhorsen series by Garth Nix)

Yes, we’ve got multiple books when she’s an adult with grown up children, but I really want something in the years between the end of Sabriel and those books. I want to see her fully accepting her position as Abhorsen – to see her becoming Queen. To be honest, she’s such a strong character I’d read about her just brushing her teeth.

NorthernThe Subtle KnifeAmber

2. Lyra (His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman)

This series was the first group of books that I remember truly adoring as a child. There’s been talk of more books for years and if they do come out I’m going to pre-order the heck out of them. That ending guys, it’s haunted me ever since. I know I keep saying it, but I’m really looking forward to the BBC adaptation – it could be absolutely beautiful.

Hp

3. All Harry Potter characters (Harry Potter Series by J K Rowling)

This is going to be on so many lists for this topic. I guess what I really want is the aftermath story, the bit after the end but before the epilogue. I know that most of the facts are out there now – who Rowling says the characters married, their children, their careers – but facts are one thing and stories are another. This generation grew up in a war and I’d be really interested to see the transition to peace time.

otto and the flying twins

4. Otto and Mab (Otto and the Flying Twins by Charlotte Haptie)

I absolutely adore this book – it’s so magical – the world of the Karmidee is brilliantly imagined and the fablelike quality of the narration is just spellbinding. I’ve read the second book in the series but not the third, so I’d like to revisit them some day. Haptie is such an underrated writer – there should be more of these characters out there!

The Graveyard Book

5. Nobody Owens (The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman)

The ending of this book, come on guys – you have to want to know what happens after Gaiman makes us all cry in  a bittersweet manner. Bod’s a beautiful character with a highly unusual upbringing and he looks like he’s going to live an amazing life. It would be great to get an insight into it and hopefully see some more of Silas too!

BItterblue2

6. Bitterblue (Bitterblue by Kristin Cashore)

I’d like more of Fire and Katsa too but it’s Blue who really sticks in my head as we left her at a very pivotal point in her life. I want to see her finally coming into her own now that her country has begun to rebuild. Her book already is an aftermath story – but her timeline still felt a little unfinished to me. More books please!

bartimaues

7. Kitty (The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud)

We leave her in such a unique position and as one of the most interestingly developed characters in YA. Kitty changes so much over the course of the trilogy but still manages to stay true to herself. The story of her adult life would be fascinating. I’d have loved more Nathaniel as well, but I don’t see that happening.

Beyond_the_Deepwoodsstone pilot

8. The Stone Pilot/Maugin (The Edge Chronicles by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell)

Another one of the important series from my childhood – I can remember our librarian recommending the first book in the series to me, then getting completely sucked in. I loved Maugin’s backstory and any more stories featuring her are a must read for me!

The_Bad_Beginning

9. The Baudelaire Siblings (A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket)

I loved these books so much as a kid. The narration is so incredibly unique and the world just kept on expanding. I know the end of the series although I never got that far with the books and I can’t help but feel there was so much more potential than where we leave them. More Baudelaires please! This is another one with an adaptation coming up, this time from Netflix. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet because the film adaptation was a bit iffy in places – I hope this one stays true to the text.

Marillier_-_Wildwood_Dancing_Coverartcybele

10. Paula and her siblings (Wildwood Dancing/Cybele’s Secret by Juliet Marillier)

This was a series that always seemed like it should be longer. There isn’t sufficient resolution to the sisters’ stories and there was so much more to say. I’d love another book following the youngest sibling where we could finally get some resolution on the lives of the elder daughters!

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Childhood characters I’d love to revisit as adults

  1. YES to Sabriel! I almost went with her too because I adore her to pieces and honestly, I want to know EVERYTHING about her life ♥ She’s a favorite of mine for sure. In the end though, since we do see her as an adult (even though it’s not enough), I went with Lirael instead. I’m always picking Sabriel so I tried to be fair this time LOL! Oh and I agree with ALL of the HP characters and Lyra…I had her on my list as well 🙂 Awesome selection here^^ ♥♥

    Like

Leave a Reply

