What’s up Wednesday

What's UpWednesday.png

What I’ve read and what I’ve done:

IronGhost_v2-jpg-jpg21416690The Havocs

I’ve been making decent progress through my Spring TBR list so far. I’ve finished the second book in Jen Williams Copper Cat series and really enjoyed reading more heist highjinks with the gang out in the wider world. I’ve also reread The Invisible Library – previously reviewed here – in preparation for starting the sequel and I loved it even more the second time!

I’ve read a lot of poetry over the past few weeks as I’ve been working on my PhD poems for the year so far. Jacob Polley’s collection The Havocs really stuck in my brain – I’m definitely going to keep dipping in and out of it, there’s some wonderfully strong poems in there!

What I’m reading now and what I’m doing this week:

masked

I’m working my way through Genevieve Cogman’s second novel at the moment and I’m loving it! Irene is always a pleasure to read and I really like how her character has developed into someone more confident and assured in her own skills. I’m also enjoying her transition from a free agent to someone who now has a lot to lose.

Tonight I’m doing a poetry reading at the Costa up Lancaster Uni’s campus near Galgate. Another PhD student – Matt Haw – has started up a poetry open mike night at 7pm every 2nd, 4th and 6th Wednesday of term. For the first one Matt’s scheduled a group of students to read and one of the other PhD’s – Amali – is also launching her poetry pamphlet. It would be really wonderful if any of you Lancashire folk could make the trip as it would be wonderful to see some familiar faces! This will be the longest reading I’ve done; I’ve got a ten minute slot all to myself so I’ve been trying to work out which poems to choose and practice my timings. But I’m looking forward to it, I’m also having dinner with a friend beforehand, so it should be a good night!

What I’m going to read next:

big magicDarker ShadeA Gathering of Shadows Final

I’ve got a lot of books left on my Spring TBR but I think these are the ones I’m fancying at the moment. I’ve been looking forward to A Gathering of Shadows every since I finished the first book and it managed to live up to all that hype. But I’d like to reread ADSOM first to get me back in the mood for more of Kes and Lila’s antics.

I’ve had Big Magic on my shelf for a while and now – as I’m approaching the end of my first year of PhD – feels like a good time to read a book that encourages creativity.

One thought on “What’s up Wednesday

Leave a Reply

