Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Heist Books

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

So… this week’s is actually meant to be Top Ten Bookish People to Follow on Social Media. BUT my brain had me convinced that this week was actually Top Ten Books to read when in the mood for x…. (which was actually the first TTT for March) so that’s what you guys get.

Six

1. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

Yes guys, it’s here again. The heist book to end all heist books.

THE-GIRL-FROM-EVERYWHERE-Heidi-Heilig
2. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
When I was writing this list the fact that this actually is a heist novel suddenly occurred to me. I barely noticed, because all the issues around the crime are so tightly entwined with Nix’s journey. That’s not to say the heist doesn’t play a huge part in the book – and indeed Nix’s solution to their problem is ingenious – but this a heist book with it’s thinking cap on. Thought provoking and fun!
The Palace Job

3. The Palace Job (Rogues of the Republic #1) by Patrick Weekes

I could easily have filled three of the spots on this list with the three Rogues books currently available. But I have a soft spot for the first. This was the book where the heist felt most personal, the motives the most complex. As it’s the first book, it’s also the one where we learnt the most about the majority of the characters – would wholeheartedly recommend.

The spirit thief

4. The Spirit Thief (The Legend of Eli Monpress #1) by Rachel Aaron

Now this one was really, really fun. It starts out very light, but there’s darker nuances throughout. The main trio are really intriguing characters and it’s a very speedy read. Definitely worth a shot!

Lies of locke lamora

5. The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards #1) by Scott Lynch

I’m feeling due a reread of this before I read the next few books in the series. It’s gritty, it’s funny, it’s twisty and it’s brilliant. Locke is a great character and you’re going to be more than willing to follow him anywhere, just to find out what craziness he’ll come up with next.

Final empire

6. The Final Empire (Mistborn #1) by Brandon Sanderson

This is a different kettle of fish to my preferred style of heist book- neither quick paced nor fable-like. Instead, Sanderson’s world is steeped in detail and lore. The pace is slow and the story progresses steadily. The heist is at the centre of a complicated web of a political revolution – there’s a lot going on here.

s-typeopts13

7. Theft of Swords (Ryria Revelations #1) by Michael J Sullivan

It’s been a while since I’ve read this one! I’m definitely due a reread. But this was great epic fantasy and a lot of fun from what I remember. I think I got the second omnibus from the library but didn’t get chance to read it before it got recalled by another user – I should definitely reread/finish the series as I remember it being a real page turner and I really enjoyed Royce and Hadrian’s antics!

The Thief lord

8. The Thief Lord by Cornelia Funke

The only standalone novel of Funke’s I’ve read. A really beautiful tale about a group of orphans and their mysterious leader – Scipio – who are asked to steal a wooden wing that used to belong to a fairground ride. It’s a strange sounding heist at the heart of a story that’s really about the politics of power and age. But there’s something truly magical about it all.

18667112

9. The Copper Promise by Jen Williams (Copper Cat #1) by Jen Williams

Now this one is a fairly recent read. It was a hell of a lot of fun – the heist is the beginning portion of the book and the rest of the novel follows the fallout of the crime in a series of episodic adventures. This could so easily be adapted as a TV series. The characters all have their own individual angle and work well as a gang – The second book in the series is currently on my April TBR list.

Hobbit

10. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Probably the first book that I read that dealt with a ‘heist’. A great whimsical tale full of an unlikely band of heroes, roaming an intriguing world. The book is a very different creature to the film trilogy. Whilst I do enjoy the movies, I think I much prefer the fable-like quality of the original novel!

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Heist Books

  1. Awesome topic^^ I LOVE heist stories! YES to Mistborn and The Hobbit! I’ve got nothing but love for both of those ♥ I still need to read Eli Monpress, Lies of Locke Lamora, The Girl from Everywhere and The Copper Promise but they are ALL on my tbr shelf so hopefully I’ll get to them soon 😀 GREAT selection! x

    Like

    • Thank you! They’re all great books. As I’ve been writing this blog it’s kinda crept up on me just how many books I love are – despite having a lot of fantasy elements – actually heist books so I thought it was about time I wrote a post on it. Thank goodness for TTT….even if I got the wrong week ^_^

      Like

Leave a Reply

