Top Ten Tue(Thur)sday – My Last Ten 5 * Reads

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

So much for scheduled posts eh? So I’m a couple of days late to the TTT party but I wanted to do this one anyway. I’ve read some amazing books over the last year so really these are just a fraction of them….

THE-GIRL-FROM-EVERYWHERE-Heidi-Heilig

1. The Girl From Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

My latest First Time Read and a book that really lives up to the hype. There’s so much depth to the plot in this novel, Nix’s very existence is precariously balanced and Heilig raises some very intriguing questions with regard to the morals of the situation. I ended up adoring Nix and the rest of the crew – there’s a rave review coming your way soon!

Six

2. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo

I first read this book in December 2015 and it was so,so good. I’ve not reviewed it yet as I was subsequently horrifically disappointed by the first book in Bardugo’s Grisha trilogy. I began to think my love for Six of Crows may have been some sort of fever dream. However, a recent reread confirms that it really is just as good – if not better – the second time around.

Ancillary

3. Ancillary Justice by Ann Leckie

No matter how good people said this was it was so, so much better. The next two books were good – 4 Stars good – but they couldn’t live up to the wonder of this first novel. Leckie blew me away with the complexities of Breq – a character who was both small and insignificant and hugely important to the universe.

The aeronaut

4. The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher

I love Jim Butcher’s previous series, but that did not prepare me for how much I was going to enjoy this book. The world-building, the characters, the humour – it was so much fun and it’s one of the books I read last year that I’m already itching to reread!

The Palace Job

5. The Palace Job by Patrick Weekes

All three books in this series are great reads, but I have a soft spot for the first one. I think it’s my favourite heist that the team conducted – perhaps because we know so little about the characters at this point and the reveals are part of the fun. I think Loche in particular was a brilliant creation, but all of the gang stand up well on their own.

Hp

6. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone: Illustrated Edition by JK Rowling

An old favourite in some very pretty new packaging! The cover for the illustrated version of Chamber of Secrets was revealed today ahead of its October release – you can bet that I’m going to be buying it! The illustrations in this were utterly beautiful and made me look at the characters in a new way!

Sorcerer-to-the-Crown-293x450

7. Sorcerer to the Crown by Zen Cho

A cross between Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell (if it was told from the margins of society) and Jonathan Stroud’s Bartimaeus Trilogy. I’m so glad there are going to be more Sorcerer Royal books! I can’t wait to read more of Zacharias and Prunella’s adventures and perhaps get to see more of the world beyond England.

The Goblin Emperor

8. The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

This is now one of my favourite books. It makes me smile just to think of it, I’m hoping that Addison will do more in this world – although on my second read I can see how well it works as a standalone novel. Sheer perfection.

TheMartianUK

9. The Martian by Andy Weir

Going back, I was surprised to learn that I gave this five stars. I remember it being good, like four stars good, but not in the same league as some of the others I’ve given my top rating to. I do remember that it was a lot of fun and it really made me laugh. I haven’t seen the film yet – maybe that would remind me why I rated it so highly.

Darker Shade

10. A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Scwab

I loved this one and I recently got the sequel for my birthday, so I’m looking forward to reading it again soon before diving back into the further adventures of Kell and the gang!

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tue(Thur)sday – My Last Ten 5 * Reads

  1. You’re lucky, this year has no 5-star reads for me so far…BUT AGoS is coming up so hopefully that will break my current trend. I still need to read The Martian, The Goblin Emperor, The Sorcerer and the Crown, The Aeronaut’s Windlass and The Girl from Everywhere 😀 The fact that you loved them so much is encouraging! Oh and Harry Potter of course, I really need a reread AND to get my hands on that gorgeous illustrated edition ♥

    Like

    • I fully recommend them all – I’ve got my hands on a copy of AGoS but I haven’t started reading it yet. I think I want to read ADSoM again first so I can enjoy it all the more 😉

      Like

  2. Mmmm, good list! I need to read some of these still, like Six of Crows. I peeked at the first chapter of Jim Butcher’s new one and wasn’t sure; it sounds interesting, but it also seemed kind of weird that instead of saying “daughter, I would like you to go into the military” (or whatever it was) there was that whole drama! I should try it soon, though.

    Like

    • I agree that the first chapter makes very little sense, thankfully there isn’t really anything else like that in the rest of the book. I presume that the strange way Gwen’s mum went about it is going to make sense in future books as there’s some undercurrent going on under the surface….

      Like

Leave a Reply

