Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl by David Barnett

mechanical girl

Gideon Smith and the Mechanical Girl

by David Barnett

Rating: 2 Stars/DNF

Sadly I finished the year with two DNF’s. This just wasn’t for me. far too silly, with a humiliating pay off to poor Gideon’s overwhelming naïveté approaching with an alarming level of speed.

I’ve had a lot of good luck with my steam-punk reads recently, but I suppose it was more along the line of Fantasy books with steam punk elements: Patrick Weekes’ Rogues trilogy, Katherine Addison’s The Goblin Emperor and Jim Butcher’s The Aeronaut’s Windlass. I’ve had less luck with Barnett’s work. It just felt silly and highly implausible, also decidedly lacking in much of interest in the beginning other than the fishing industry and a randomly appearing Bram Stoker.

It just wasn’t up my alley.

Leave a Reply

