Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books on my Spring TBR

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

Alongside my review backlog, I’m hoping to catch up on my ARC’s this spring, so they feature prominently in this list!

porcelain

1. The Boy with the Porcelain Blade by Den Patrick

I’ve started this one, but I bounced off it to re-read Six of Crows as I’ve been working on my review of it. But the little I read sounds intriguing, I don’t often read fantasy based on Italian society so it’s intriguing.

IronGhost_v2-jpg-jpg.jpg

2. The Iron Ghost by Jen Williams

The Copper Promise was so much fun when I read it last year, so I’m hoping more of the same from this as I’ve got my eye on reading the third book in the series – The Silver Tide.

THE-GIRL-FROM-EVERYWHERE-Heidi-Heilig.jpg

3. The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig (ARC)

I’ve seen such excellent reviews of this one – I was so glad to find it as read now on Netgalley so I need to get to it soon!

masked

4. The Masked City by Genevieve Cogman (ARC/ Own copy)

The Invisible Library was one of my highlights of last year (review can be found here) so I’m really looking forward to getting my teeth into this one. I can’t wait to get back to Irene’s antics!

river of ink

5. Rivers of Ink by Paul M. M. Cooper (ARC)

My final ARC read  – I was lucky to snap up an ARC copy of this. The premise is intriguing, the cover is beautiful and it’s about the power of words. What’s not to like?

killing

6. The Killing Moon by N. K. Jemisin

I’ve been wanting to read some Jemisin for a while – she gets great reviews but this is the only first in a series book of hers that I’ve been able to nab from the library so far. It seems as good a place to start as any so I’m looking forward to giving it a shot.

north and south

7. North and South by Elizabeth Gaskell

I’ve had this one in my TBR pile for a while. I love classics but I don’t read as many of them as I’d like to. This seems like a good one to try – I loved the BBC adaptation that they did a few years ago. The themes it deals with are really interesting and it’s an area of history that I don’t really know that much about.

th_b_bennett_cityofstairs_UKcity of blades

8. City of Stairs (Re-read) and City of Bones by Robert Jackson Bennett

My love for City of Stairs is well known (rave review to be found here) so I’ve been eagerly anticipating the sequel. I want to set aside a chunk of time so that I can re-read the first book before launching myself straight into the next. If Blades is a patch on it’s predecessor – and all the reviews I’ve seen indicate that it is – then I’m going to disappear down a reading black hole for a couple of days once Litfest 2016 is over and it’s officially the Easter Holidays.

Traitor-UK1

9. The Traitor by Seth Dickinson (ARC/Library copy)

My ARC of this ran out a while ago during the insane autumn of ’15, but I’ve managed to grab a library copy and I really want to read it. Bit I know it’s going to break my heart so I may need to bookend it with two novels that will make me laugh (I’m thinking a bit of Pratchett and maybe some Jim Butcher to help rid me of the book hangover).

the mirror empire

10. The Mirror Empire by Kameron Hurley

And finally, a book from the blogs. I’ve seen a lot of good reviews for this one over the past year so I nabbed it when it came into my library. It sounds like it should be a good read and well worth a go!

What’s on your Spring TBR?

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Books on my Spring TBR

Leave a Reply

