Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant to Read

2
Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.
This weeks list is the Top Ten Books released in 2015 that I didn’t get around to reading. I’m glad to say that I didn’t end up with that many to choose from as I managed to read a lot of the 2015 releases that appealed to me, most of my TBR is now backdated from my time at uni or classics that I’ve never got around to. But here are still a few that  I missed…
9780399171611_large_The_Wrath_and_the_Dawn

1. The Wrath and The Dawn by Renee Ahdieh (June 2015)

Another 1001 nights retelling. I’ve been after one of those for years and then three came out at once! E.K. Johnston’s A Thousand Nights (find my review here) is an absolute masterclass in storytelling. It would be very hard for Ahdieh to follow that for me, so I’m going to wait a bit before I dive in, but I still want to take a look at it! (The third ‘retelling’ is Rushdie’s new release, happily sitting at the top of my Library to read pile).

to walk on earth a stranger

2. To Walk on earth a stranger by Rae Carson (September 2015)

This one caught my eye earlier in the year but with the release date around the time I started uni I just never got to it. I’m intrigued by the concept as I don’t think I’ve ever read a Fantasy novel set in the California gold rush. Family legend indicates my great great great grandfather went to America to be involved in the gold rush, but it’s a period I know little about. I will definitely try and track it down through the library at some point!Magonia3. Magonia by Maria Dahvana Headley (June 2015)

Now here is one that I really want to read but it’s not available at any of the library’s near me, so I’m going to have to order it from another library and I’m not letting myself request anything until my TBR pile shrinks a bit more… The blurb sounds fascinating, I’ve seen some beautiful concept art for the characters and I really want to know more about the world-building behind it.

The weight of feathers

4. The Weight of Feathers by Anna Marie McLemore (October 2015)

I actually bought a copy of this a while back, the cover’s brilliant, from the quotes I’ve seen the language looks beautiful and I’m a sucker for circuses. I don’t have a real reason that I’ve not got around to it yet other than I’m going to have to be in the right mood to read it as starcrossed can get VERY annoying for me.

big magic5. Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Liz Gilbert (September 2015)

I’m definitely  going to read this soon, I even own a copy but I just haven’t been fancying much non-fiction related lately (at least no non-fiction I’m not reading for my course). But I’m on a bit of a writing slump fiction-wise and this might be the thing to kick me back into action.

rest of us just live here

6. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness (August 2015)

Now, I’ve never read anything by Patrick Ness, although I have heard some very good stuff about his work. His latest release seems like a good place to start, a fun look at some of the tropes surrounding saviours of the world in high school. I’ll get to it once it’s back in at my local library.

landmarks

7. Landmarks by Robert Macfarlane (March 2015)

I bought this and another of his books on offer earlier this year. The bits I’ve skimmed of them both have a lovely lyrical quality. I haven’t read much nature writing but the premise of this definitely has me interested.

grief is the thing with feathers

8. Grief is the Thing with Feathers by Max Porter (September 2015)

This is one of those books that I know is going to make me cry but I really want to read it anyway. It’s available in one of my local libraries, so I’ll get round to this one sooner. I’ve seen a lot of really good reviews for this one and I’m looking forward to giving it a go.

ava lavender

9. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton (October 2015)

Another book that is probably going to make me cry as it is apparently very bittersweet. A magical realism tale following three generations of women in the same family. The Ava in the title is the youngest, a girl with wings and through her story we uncover the tales of her mother and grandmother.

portableshelter10. A Portable Shelter by Kirsty Logan (August 2015)

I snapped a copy of this up at the time because it was on a limited run and I’m so glad I did. The woodcut illustrations are beautiful and I’m really excited to read some more of Logan’s short stories. I really enjoyed Gracekeepers and Kirsty read the title story of this collection at one of our Litfest events early last year. I’m looking forward to reading more and seeing how they all fit into the frame narrative.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten 2015 Releases I Meant to Read

  1. Lovely list, Natalie. 🙂 I have a copy of Ava Lavender waiting to be read on my shelf, too, and I think Grief is the Thing with Feathers sounds brilliant.

    Like

  2. I read The Wrath and The Dawn before I read A Thousand Nights and actually felt both stories are really quite different. A Thousand Nights is very serious, almost literary, and TWATD has all the makings of a good fantasy YA, if that makes sense.

    I’ve read The Rest of Us Just Live Here and didn’t really like it for various reason, but Joey is right in that it didn’t really have much of a plot.

    Here’s my TTT, if you’re interested. 🙂

    Like

  3. Magonia, Walk on Earth a Stranger, Ava Lavender, The Rest of Us Just Live Here and The Weight of Feathers are all ones I still need to read too^^ I have read Wrath & Dawn though and I highly recommend it – it was beautiful ♥ I hope you get to all of these this year^^ x

    Like

  4. I’m so jealous you own a copy of ‘A Portable Shelter’ and that you met Kirsty Logan in person… We interviewed her in our radio programme after I read ‘The Gracekeepers’ – and I became obsessed with her beautiful prose and her weird stories. She’s an excellent writer!

    Like

Leave a Reply

