Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Bookish Resolutions for 2016

2

A little late….

  1. Try to read all of my Review Copies – if possible before the release date… I hate requesting copies and then not getting round to reviewing them! I’ve got better at this, as originally I had problems with opening the eARCs on Adobe and they expired. I’ve not let any run out of date since and I’m slowly trying to work my way through the backlog of books I missed at the beginning thanks to the library!
  2. Work my way through any books I own that I have not already read… I reorganised my bookcase on Monday to give myself a TBR shelf and make this easier. This is largely pretty classics I’ve bought and always meant to read, non-fiction, short story collections and some fantasy books that I really want to read but just…haven’t.
  3. Actually take that bag of books to the charity shop… I don’t like giving up on books. Some books I buy tend to languish on my bookcase for eons. I try to give any book I read two or three tries, sometimes it’s just not the right point to read the book. The first time I read Neil Gaimain’s Anansi Boys I was trying to juggle loads of GCSE coursework and it just wouldn’t go in. I read it again at college and it’s now one of my favourite books! But I need to admit that there are some books that just have to go.
  4. Finish all the books that I am currently reading. Having a list of 9 fiction and non/fiction books on the go is NOT GOOD. I’m no longer going to count the poetry collections I dip in and out of all the time for my PhD or that list would be scary long. It’s bad enough as it is, I need to control it and have no more than 2 novels on the go at once.
  5. Write reviews immediately after reading the book and keep a quotes page for each… It’s so much easier to write reviews soon after reading the book. The characters are fresh in my mind and I don’t have to look up anyone’s name… I also love book quotes but the ones I love aren’t always on goodreads or elsewhere on the internet. It makes much more sense to keep my own list for each book.
  6. Write reviews for all the books I read at the end of 2015. I’m very behind in reviews at the moment due to personal circumstances so this could take a while! But I read some really great books at the end of last year (in addition to a couple I really didn’t get on with) and they all deserve reviews.
  7. Try to read 100 books in accordance with my GoodReads challenge…. I think I’ll be able to manage this – though there will definitely be months where I read considerably more than others. So I’m not going to set myself a monthly target and see how it goes… I hope I’ll manage to read more than that.
  8. Don’t keep library books for more than three months… if it gets to that point I’m just not ready to read them at the moment and I need to return them to give someone else a chance. They’ll still be there when I want to read them!
  9. Finish rereading Garth Nix’s Old Kingdom series… My boyfriend bought me the long-awaited Clariel early last year and I immediately jumped into rereading the wonderful Sabriel. But I’ve not really got much further than that…oops?
  10. Read The Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson… I’ve been meaning to read some Sanderson for years but I’ve never got around to it. Me and Jess over @themoormaiden have both decided to give this series a shot in January. My boyfriend’s lent me his copies and I think this will be my next non-course read after I finish Ann Leckie’s Ancillary series.

What are your bookish resolutions?

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Bookish Resolutions for 2016

  1. I’m also going to donate books I’ve read and won’t read again. My trunk is actually full as we speak – I just need to drop them off! Yes to reading books you already own and REREADING The Old Kingdom!! I actually read Sabriel, Lirael and Abhorsen for the first time at the end of 2015 and haven’t stopped raving about them since!! NEW FAVORITES ♥ I have Clariel looking at me right this moment so I know I’ll be reading that one soon too. Oh and I hope you read Mistborn as well – one of my favorite series of all! Good luck with all your goals for the year and happy 2016!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

