Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Novels Read in 2015

 

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

 So this week’s list in Top Ten books read in 2015 refined down however you want. I decided to go with the top ten novels that I’ve read for the first time this year.

1. The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer

As this is a complete series I am counting this as one place on the list. I devoured the first three books in nearly as many days and then eagerly awaited the publication of Winter later in the year. They were a heck of a lot of fun to read.
th_b_bennett_cityofstairs_UK
2. City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett
I still cannot sing the praises of this novel enough. I’m feeling compelled to reread a few of the books that I read this year and this one is definitely up there – in fact I reread sections of it immediately after finishing. Staggeringly good and well up there on my all time favourites – just go and read it ok?
Uprooted-
3. Uprooted by Naomi Novik
A pleasure to read. I’m sure this is going to be on a lot of best of lists. Indeed, I’ve already seen it on quite a few of the big ones and quite deservedly so.
100 nights
4. A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnson
A delightful masterpiece in oral storytelling, mythmaking and sisterhood. This appeared on Netgalley just as I was craving a 1001 nights retelling (I still haven’t read the other two retellings that came out this year – Rushdie’s and The Wrath and The Dawn) but this one was stunningly good and seems to have been a little overlooked.
The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet
5. The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet by Becky Chambers
Another wonderful eARC discovery. A diaspora of humanity, much reduced from their comfortable existence on earth, seeks to make their mark on a greatly expanded universe. Chambers’ world building is staggering and her characters are wonderful constructed.
Darker Shade
6. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab
This lived up to expectations in all the best ways. Fun characters, great plot, excellent system of magic. I’m kind of glad I left it a while to read it as it means the sequel is that bit closer…
The Goblin Emperor
7. The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison
Steampunk meets high fantasy. An outsider protagonist who learns his own value. Another book that I want to reread already because it just made me smile. I may well give into this before the year is over, because it is just SO good. Go read it and let it improve your day.
The aeronaut
8. The Aeronaut’s Windlass by Jim Butcher
I haven’t reviewed this on here yet but it was absolutely magnificent. Another genre mash up of epic proportions that I enjoyed immensely. Butcher is one of those writers that is both incredibly prolific and still outstanding. This new series is definitely one to watch and I’m really looking forward to the next instalment.
Ancillary
9. Ancillary Justice by Anne Leckie
Another one I haven’t reviewed on here yet. I’m running out of adjectives here because all these books are so good. But this one is something else. The concept, the structure, the intricacies of the protagonists brain for goodness sake! I’ve ordered the last one in the series from the library and I’m going to pick it up in the next few days so that I can binge read #2 and #3. I already have number two but I didn’t think I could bear the wait…
Six
10. Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
And yet another that I haven’t put the review  up for yet. I’d heard a lot about this book – a really, really good fantasy heist book. It is exactly what was promised and a heck of a lot more. Absolutely brilliant and full of twists and turns.
7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Novels Read in 2015

Leave a Reply

