Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten New-to-Me Author’s I Read For The First Time in 2015

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

This could be a very long list – I’ve read a lot of new-to-me authors this year and I’ve discovered some real future favourites!

th_b_bennett_cityofstairs_UK

  1. Robert Jackson Bennett

City of Stairs is unquestionably one of my stand out books for this year. A genre trampling multiform marvel of humour, philosophy, great depth of character and a brilliant plot. I need to plunder this man’s previous work and I’m really looking forward to City of Blades next year.

100 nights

  1. E.K. Johnson

A Thousand Nights was a masterpiece in oral storytelling, mythmaking and female relationships. I’ve just treated myself to the hardcover after first being lucky enough to receive an eARC from Netgalley. I’m happy to confirm that it’s every bit as beautiful on the outside as it is inside! I’m looking forward to something very different but equally powerful in Johnson’s forthcoming Exit, Pursued by a Bear and I’ll definitely be checking out her back catalogue.

The Muse

  1. Jessie Burton

The Miniaturist is, as I’ve said many times, one of those rare creatures that live up to their hype. Gorgeously lyrival, brimming with historical detail and an uncanny eye for humanity, Burton’s work dazzled and entranced me. I’m looking forward to more of the same in the forthcoming The Muse.

cinder1

  1. Marissa Meyer

The first Jess-commendation of the list. Jess over @themoormaiden knows me too well, the advantage of this is that she knows what books I’m going to love and she hit the nail on the head with The Lunar Chronicles. Meyer’s worldbuilding is staggering and her understanding of what unnerves us – what we fear and what we flinch from in others – is part of what makes these books so good. She’s got a short story collection set in TLC-verse (Stars Above) and a new novel – Heartless – coming out next year!

21416690

  1. Genevieve Cogman

I adored The Invisible Library, books, spies, multiverses and the importance of Language with a capital L. Sublime. I am supremely lucky in that I’ve just received an eARC of the next book in the series – The Masked City – from Netgalley. So I’m getting ready to jump back into Cogman’s excellently realised world.

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

  1. Becky Chambers

Another eARC discovery thanks to Netgalley. Sci-fi just the way I like it, baffling alien species who are even more baffled by humanity.  An earthern diaspora trying to find their way in a new universe and finding themselves way over the head. The characters are compelling and watching the crew interact is easily the best bit of this book.

The Goblin Emperor

  1. Katherine Addison
My second Jess-commendation of the list. A staggeringly good book that goes clambering across genre boundaries with incredible ease, somehow feeling like a cannon staple and something entirely new at the same time. I challenge you to read this and not fall in love with the world and the kind hearted emperor of the title.
Ancillary
8. Anne Leckie
My review is forthcoming on this but I cannot sing this woman’s praises enough. I’m currently holding fire on reading the second until I get my hands on the third because a binge read is inevitable. The scope of this novel is staggering, the protagonist’s inherent ability to tell you several stories simultaneously is wonderful and I’m just in awe of Leckie’s ability to create culture.
Six
9. Leigh Bardugo
Another forthcoming review, I put off reading Six of Crows for ages as I hadn’t read the earlier trilogy that was also set in this world. I’d been wary of it because the synopsis on the first one seemed to shout LOVE TRIANGLE which is something that makes me leg it in the other direction every time. But I think I may have been mislead, Six of Crows was absolutely amazing and now I need to read the other books whilst I wait for the sequel!
Uprooted-
10. Naomi Novik
I was torn about putting Novik on here. Uprooted was such a fantastic book but my dive into her back catalogue has – so far – not been as enjoyable. I’m going to keep going through the Temeraire books but Novik deserves her place on here for a novel that really made me sit up and pay attention. I hope she continues on this trajectory.

Honourable mentions: V.E. Schwab, Kirsty Logan, Zen Cho, John Ironmonger and Silvia Moreno Garcia.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten New-to-Me Author’s I Read For The First Time in 2015

  1. Uprooted made my list too this week, man that book was just TOO GOOD!! Schwab made my list too, she’s amazing! I adore Marissa Meyer too, I can’t wait to finally sink my teeth in to Winter XD Awesome list this week^^ xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

