Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten 2016 Releases

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

The original TTT prompt calls for releases from new authors, but I’m not very up on what novels are coming out from debut authors (this is what I rely on Netgalley and the blogosphere for). So I’ve just gone for 10 2016 releases that I’m really looking forward to! As a lot of these books are sequels I’m not saying much in way of summary, but all the new release titles link to their Goodreads page in a new tab.

hanging

1. The Hanging Tree by Ben Aaronovitch

The PC Grant novels are so, so much fun. I’m really looking forward to seeing Peter back in London and of course to find out what’s going on with Lesley and The Faceless Man!

heartless

2. Heartless by Marisa Meyer

After the release of the final book of The Lunar Chronicles quartet, I think most MM fans will have set their sights on this one. I’m intrigued as to where this one might go as I’m getting Levana vibes about it.

A Gathering of Shadows Final

3. A Gathering of Shadows by V.E.Schwab

I’m really looking forward to this one. I almost talked myself out of reading the first book in the series through fear that it wouldn’t live up to my expectations. But from my review here I think you can see that it managed to exceed them.

city of blades

4. City of Blades by Robert Jackson Bennett

The first book in the series – City of stairs reviewed here – is one of the best books I have ever read. I’m very excited about the second book’s change in protagonist and hope that the next book continues this great combination of cracking humour, great plot, well-drawn characters and philosophy.

age of myth

5. Age of Myth by Michael J Sullivan

I never got around to finishing the Ryria Revelations – I really need to get round to this – but the books that I did read were great fun and I’m looking forward to seeing a new series from him.

Exit

6. Exit, Pursued by a Bear by E.K. Johnston

A Thousand Nights (reviewed here) – but it was a masterclass in oral storytelling, female relationships and discovering your own power. Exit is a whole new kettle of fish. A Winter’s Tale inspired retelling following a star cheerleader in a small town after she is sexually assaulted. The reviews I’ve seen of  this indicate that this is going to be a wonderful and very important book.

The Muse

 7. The Muse by Jessie Burton

Another one I’m really looking forward. The Miniaturist is one of those books that really lives up to the hype. Burton’s writing style is wonderful and really savours words. I’m intrigued to see how this one is going to go.

Deathsniffer

8. The Timeseer’s Gambit by Katie McIntyre #2 The Faraday Files

I received an eARC of the first book in the series (The Deathsniffer’s Assistant pictured above and reviewed here) and it was a really good start to the series. McIntyre’s created a very unusual world here with flawed characters and an intriguing backstory. I’m looking forward to seeing where it goes next.

Rebel of the Sands

9. The Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

I’ve heard lots of good things about this, an unusual combination of Western/Middle Eastern mythology with a female sharpshooter protagonist. I’m intrigued!

A criminal magic

10. A Criminal Magic by Lee Kelly

Another new-to-me author that sounds like they have an intriguing concept. Namely a book touted as ‘The Night Circus meets Peaky Blinders’ – this sounds like it could be a lot of fun. A world where prohibition was brought in not to deal with alcohol but magic? Very interesting indeed.

 

8 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten 2016 Releases

Leave a Reply

