Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Movie Adaptations I Need To Watch

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

o-LIFE-OF-PI-REVIEWS-facebook

1. Life of Pi

I really need to watch this one, the visuals look utterly amazing, just look at the contrast in those colours! I’ve never read the book but it has been recommended to me repeatedly and it sounds right up my street, so I’ll have to give both of them a go.

INTRO-2_20thCenturyFox_TheMartian

2. The Martian by Andy Weir

I’m looking forward to this. Matt Damon can get on my nerves a bit but from the trailer it looks like he’ll be good at Whitney’s oddball humour. I’m also really interested to see how they’ve adapted the unusual format of the novel, mixing first person logs with the scenes on the ship and back on earth.

the-perks-of-being-a-wallflower-movie-wallpaper-2

3. The Perks of Being a Wallflower

This has been recommended to be a few times and I think it’d be worth giving it a shot. Coming of age movies aren’t generally my things, but this seems to combine some interesting plot points with humour and canny outsider observation.

mockingjay

4. The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part II

It’s going to break my heart, but I’m still looking forward to do it. I’m intrigued by how they’re going to deal with the showdown in the capital and specifically the ending.

v_for_vendetta_b

5. V for Vendetta

This is meant to be a fairly good adaptation, and I’m really not sure why I haven’t seen it yet – I’d better get on that.

mockingbird

6. To Kill a Mockingbird

I still haven’t read the book or seen the film and I really need to get round to both of them at some point! I don’t think I’ll ever read the ‘sequel’ as I find the manner in which it came into the public domain highly disturbing and profit driven.

tinker

7. Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy

I’m a sucker for a good spy film and this is one of the most popular spy stories out there. It’s also got a really good cast!

FAR FROM THE MADDING CROWD (2015)

8. Far From the Madding Crowd

The Carey Mulligan adaptation specifically, I haven’t watched enough adaptations of Thomas Hardy novels – because Tess of the D’ubervilles makes me want to weep – so I’m hoping this one is a bit more upbeat.

RemainsoftheDay1

9. The Remains of the Day

A Classic that I’ve never got around to watching all the day through. I need to watch more classic films as well as catch up on my classic reads list.

solaris

10. Solaris

I need to watch more quality sci-fi and somehow Solaris is one that passed me by. I love the concept and it sounds really intriguing.

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Movie Adaptations I Need To Watch

  1. I still need to watch To Kill a Mockingbird, too, and I can’t wait for Mockingjay Part 2. 🙂 I really enjoyed The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Far From the Madding Crowd, but I wasn’t too keen on Life of Pi and I know a lot of big V for Vendetta fans really didn’t like the movie.

    Like

Leave a Reply

