Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

This week, it is Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel. Ok, do you know just how many books I thought were debuts when I first read them, but later turned out to be 2nd, 3rd, or forth novels and therefore cannot appear on this list?

The Goblin Emperor

1.Katherine Addison – The Goblin Emperor

I live in hope of Addison’s next novel, if her debut is anything to go by it’s going to be a corker. I’m told that The Goblin Emperor is a standalone, but I really hope that she revisits this universe as it is utterly wonderful. That said, I will be fascinated by wherever she goes next because her writing is highly original and an utter delight.

21416690

2. Genevieve Cogman – The Invisible Library

I’m already looking forward to her next book in this series – the soon to be released The Masked City. Cogman has set up such a detailed wider universe and I’m really looking forward to exploring it further. Her books manage to balance humour, intrigue and some really good insights on the importance of books and language.

gracekeepers

3. Kirsty Logan – The Gracekeepers

Whilst Logan already has two collections of short stories under her belt – I’m looking forward to reading my copy of A Portable Shelter – it’s her next novel that I’m really anticipating. The Gracekeepers is a beautifully lyrical tale of a drowned world which strikes a delicate balance between what is shown and what remains a mystery.

The miniaturist

4, Jessie Burton – The Miniaturist

This book was a true surprise to me, it’s so rare for a book that is a bestseller on this scale to be so brilliant. But Burton manages to live up to every 5 star review in a haunting, historical tale that is truly delicious to read. I can’t wait to see where she goes next and how she approaches her next genre mixing novel.

Signal-to-Noise

5. Silvia Moreno Garcia – Signal to Noise

This was another recommendation from Jess over @themoormaiden (she also pointed me in the direction of The Goblin Emperor) and it’s a good ‘un. It’s unlike anything I’ve read before, jumping in and out of time frames and characters heads with seamless ease. It incorporates a lot of literary techniques that usually annoy me, but done in a way that is instead brilliant. She’s got more novels forthcoming and I’m really looking forward to see how else she can turn my perceptions on their head.

The Long Way to a Small Angry Planet

6. Becky Chambers – The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet

I got this as an ARC and it’s staggeringly good. A hugely satisfying read that spans space and species with staggering flair. The societies she’s cultivated are so detailed and she crams so much stuff into one book. I don’t know if she intends this novel to be a standalone (please no, don’t do this to me!) but there is a tremendous amount of scope left for her to explore.

Sorcerer-to-the-Crown-293x450

7. Zen Cho – Sorceror to the Crown

Another ARC copy that was a pleasure to read – my review of this will be up soon. It was a little slow to start but gathered pace really quickly. I loved Cho’s world, which felt a bit like Strange and Norrell if magic had manage to limp on into the Napoleonic era and been conquered by those in the margins. I don’t think Cho will revisit this world – the book feels wonderfully complete – this makes me all the more excited for what might come out of her brain next.

9781408856888

8. Susanna Clarke – Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell

I really, really hope that she will write the sequel. There seems to have been a sequel in the making for years, perhaps this is because the end of this book is too much to be born without hope of ansers. I really want another 700 and odd pages of Arabella, Lady Pole and Childermass cavorting about.

TheMartianUK

9. Andy Weir – The Martian

I hear that there’s soon to be another book on the way – though this one is meant to be in a more traditional sci-fi mode. I’m also really interested to see how he goes about writing his novel after his unusual route into stardom. The Martian was a lot of fun to read and incredibly well realised. I love the multiple POV’S and the unusual format so it’d be great to see how it turned out.

1383822677the-god-of-small-things

10. Arundhati Roy – The God of Small Things

This book is beautiful. The language and the sheer craft that Roy uses, result in an incredibly haunting novel. I loved it when I read it for my Contemporary Literature module at undergrad and I would love to read another book by her – if one ever does materialise.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Debut Authors Who Have Me Looking Forward To Their Sophomore Novel

  1. Very pleased to see Signal to Noise on your list too, Natalie. 😉 And I’ll definitely be picking up Burton’s next novel. I would have put The Goblin Emperor on my list, but I believe Katherine Addison is a pseudonym and she’s already released some other books under a different name. I’d love another book set in that world, though. Like you wouldn’t believe. The Gracekeepers, Sorcerer to the Crown and The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet are all books I’m planning to read ASAP!

    Like

Leave a Reply

