Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Bookish Things I Need to Quit/to start

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

  1. I need to quit being so behind in my ARC reviews. I’m incredibly lucky to be sent any advance copies, but I had issues with Adobe early on and it means I have a bit of a back log.
  2. I need to stop buying books then getting distracted by other books before reading them. Argh, so bad at this, I’m trying to draw up a list of books I have bought but not read – then I need to work through it.
  3. I need to remember that it’s OK to read books not directly related to my course when I’m studying. Reading has to be fun, I wouldn’t have dedicated my education to it otherwise.
  4. I need to stop feeling guilty about reading. I’m doing a PhD in creative writing – I need to read. The washing, the hovering and everything else will always get done. But the reading needs to get done too.
  5. I need to remember to use my lovely bookmarks rather than just train tickets, bus passes and receipts. I have a fear of using them outside the house because I don’t want to lose them, but I need to remember to swap them back.
  6. I need to stop only buying paperbacks – a lot of my frequent re-reads are books I have in paperback and they’re starting to fall apart. If I love a book enough to buy it, it deserves a hardback if there is one available.
  7. I need to get rid of books that I don’t like. I don’t have many of these, mainly ones that I got as the free book in a three for two or buy one get one free but they need to go to the charity shop.
  8. I need to stop reading only fiction/poetry. Non-fiction is wonderful and far from boring. I need to read more of it.
  9. I need to buy more poetry, they’re often only slim volumes so they don’t seem as cost effective but they’re not as readily available from libraries. So I need to support the poets who create these collections.
  10. I need to stop putting off reading the next book in a series in case a character dies – I know it’s silly, but I do it!
One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Bookish Things I Need to Quit/to start

Leave a Reply

