Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Female Magic Users/Witches

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

So this week was a freebie – I was struggling to think of what to do but this one popped into my head and just wouldn’t leave. It was actually fun to do, there could have been a much, much longer list. In fact this list could largely have been made up of Harry Potter or Discworld characters. But I controlled myself.

worst-witch-the

1. Mildred Hubble – The Worst Witch – Jill Murphy

I think she is the first witch I remember reading about. She was clumsy but big-hearted and – like mini-me – she had long dark hair in plaits. I loved her and I still do. A wonderful character.
725044_1306116353330_full
2.Morgan La Fay – Arthurian legend
She’s been adapted in many different guises over the years but she’s a wonderfully complex woman (ho I often find myself rooting for despite myself). She’s also pretty much the original sorceress to me. I think all women with magic have a little of Morgan in them.
granny_weatherwax_by_daoyiliu-d8h0z0i 1422087973022026125
3. The Lancre Witches esp. Esmerelda Weatherwax, Tiffany Aching – Discworld – Terry Pratchett
I haven’t read The Shepherd’s Crown yet so no spoilers people please. I’m doing a full re-read of the Tiffany Aching series and I’ve only just got my hands on the first two books. I love all the Lancre witches but these two are my favourites. I love the contrast – the witch who has seen it all and the witch who’s just starting out.
Luna_Lovegood_on_her_homemade_Lionhead_hat
4.Luna Lovegood – Harry Potter Series – J.K. Rowling
I could have picked so many Harry Potter witches: Tonks, Hermione, McGonagall, Molly, Ginny… But Luna is something special, to her magic is something wonderful and ever evolving. Plus she wears radishes as jewellery whilst being so, so wise.
Uprooted-
5. Agnieska – Uprooted – Naomi Novik
A wonderful view on magic. A woman’s magic, that is rooted in the land and manifests in it’s own way, no matter how others try to constrain it. Agnieska is one of my favourite characters ever, not just with regard to magic, and I love how she fights for her place in the world.
rivers of london
6. Lesley May – Ben Aaronovitch
I love Peter and Nightingale, but there’s something about Lesley. The way she uses magic to find a new purpose to her life, the way she deliberately seeks it out knowing it would change her, wanting it to. I’m really looking forward to watching her evolve and I’m really intrigued by the direction Aaronovitch is taking her character in.
The Oversight
7. Sara Faulk – The Oversight – Charlie Fletcher
The concept of a glint is just wonderful and (especially after reading the Stoneheart books) it was really interesting to see a Glint who was all-grown-up and in control of her powers. I’m really looking forward to what happens to Sarah in The Paradox and finding out more about her past.
4259870
8. Enna – Enna Burning – Shannon Hale
 Enna was my favourite character in the Forestborn series. She’s loyal, strong and independent.She really grabs hold of her destiny and embraces her power. In many ways hers was a much darker book than Isi’s but I enjoyed it the most.
9781473200852
9. Anathema Device – Good Omens – Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett
Magic all but runs Anathema’s life. Centuries ago her ancestor Agnes Nutter wrote a completely accurate book of prophecies which she lives her life by, whether she likes it or not. But she still manages to be an active person – to go and seek out her own life and make the best of what she has. I really loved her ending and the possibilities it opened.
garth nix sabriel
10. Sabriel – The Old Kingdom Series – Garth Nix
My love for Sabriel is well known. A character who takes everything the world throws at her and throws it right back, fits into any role to the best of her ability and manages to be clever and loyal without ever being annoying.
5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Female Magic Users/Witches

Leave a Reply

