Top Tep Tuesday – Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

 

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

This one was actually really hard to do. As I’ve got older I tend to read more standalones or small series’ than the really long series I read as a kid so a few of these are children’s. I’m fairly sure I’m going to have missed someone really obvious off…

men-at-arms-2

  1. Terry Pratchett – 46 (39 Discworld + 7 non-Discworld YA)

The obvious one. He definitely deserves top billing as I’ve read nearly everything he’s ever written (apart from the Long Earth Series, Nation and, bizarrely, Eric). My love for Discworld knows no bounds, but I also enjoyed the Bromeliad, the Maxwell series and The Amazing Maurice and his Educated Rodents. Also Good Omens is tied for my favourite book ever written  – a masterpiece.

Brian Jacques

  1. Brian Jacques – 22 (19 Redwall +3 Castaways)

I adored these books as child and I still own a whole shelf full. These were the go-to books for whenever I was ill – my poor mother got very good at doing a mole voice by the end of it – and I will always have fond memories of them. Jacques was a children’s author who wasn’t afraid of grand worldbuilding or killing off characters, he made a real impact on my tiny writer’s mind.

storm-frontfool mOON grave peril summer-knight-jim-butcher

  1. Jim Butcher – 19 (13 Dresden Files + 6 Codex Alera)

Jim Butcher manages to combine really fun, fast paced, page turners with characters you really care about, some really dark material and excellent world-building. I’m a couple behind on The Dresden Files at the moment – as the series is really kind of huge now – I feel like a re-read is in order.

Marillier_-_Wildwood_Dancing_Coverart cybele

  1. Juliet Marillier – 12 (4 Sevenwaters + 3 Bridei + 2 Bright Isles + 2 Wildwood + 1 Whistling Tor)

There’s no-one quite like Juliet Marillier for fairytale retellings. She’s got such a specific style and covers a lot of ground. I think Cybele’s Secret is probably my favourite but I love Daughter of the Forest if I’m in the mood for something slow burning.

garth nix sabriel

  1. Garth Nix – 11 (7 Keys to the Kingdom + 4 Old Kingdom)

He was always going to be on here – although it’s technically 10 books I’ve read with one I’m about to start (Clariel) once I get my act together and finish my re-read of Lirael/Abhorsen.

Snow spider jenny nimmo

  1. Jenny Nimmo – 9 (6 Charlie Bone + 3 Magician)

I can very vividly remember reading – or trying to read – the Snow Spider in year 5. It was the class book for the term so we were reading it as one of those huge books propped up at the front of the class. But it was the year before everyone realised just how short sighted I was, so I didn’t have any glasses yet and I couldn’t read a word. I got the book from the library instead, so I would at least know what was going on and fell in love with her writing style. I can’t remember any of our other class books for love nor money but this one really stuck with me.

sotl_uk04reiss tp 1

  1. Tamora Pierce – 10 ( 4 Song of the Lioness + 4 Protector of the Small + 2 Tricksters)

The first Pierce book that I read was Tricksters choice and it remains my favourite. I then went back to the first Alanna book and worked my way forward. I’m a bit behind on Tamora Pierce’s back catalogue (which is truly immense) as I never read her Immortals or Circle Universe books. She’s on my re-read list as I’d love to revisit her world now that I’m a bit older!

Anansi Boys The Ocean at the end of the Lane neverwhere-book-cover

  1. Neil Gaiman – 10 (7 novels + 2 Short Story Collections + Sandman#1

This number is surprisingly low as I only started reading Gaiman avidly in my late teens. I’d read Stardust when I was younger but didn’t really enjoy it, so I pretty much left him alone until I read Good Omens. Since then I’ve been reading my way through everything he’s written and I’ve yet to read something that I didn’t enjoy.

cw1 kg2

  1. Kate Griffin/Catherine Webb – 8 (4 Matthew Swift + 2 Waywalkers + 2 Stray Souls)

I remember adoring Waymakers when I was a kid and it really stuck with me. Years later I picked Kate Griffin’s The Midnight Mayor up at the Library (another one of my favourite books) I read it straight through in one sitting then went back to the beginning to start it again. I took a quick look to see what the first book in the series was called and realised that Kate Griffin and Catherine Webb were one and shouted gleefully when I realised that they were the same person. She’s firmly on my auto-buy list.

Prisonercover

  1. JK Rowling – 7 (All Harry Potter)

I haven’t read her crime novel – The Casual Vacancy – although I loved the TV adaptation up until the last 15 minutes. But I grew up with Harry Potter and I have read and reread these books so many times over the years. That series was integral to my childhood, you just can’t deny the level of thought that went into Harry’s world.

9 thoughts on “Top Tep Tuesday – Top Ten Authors I’ve Read The Most Books From

  1. So many awesome authors in your list – Juliet Marillier, Garth Nix, Tamora Pierce and JK Rowling! I grew up with Harry Potter too. I need to catch up on the rest of the books written by these authors.

    Like

Leave a Reply

