The Liebster Award Nomination

liebster2

The Liebster Award

I’m very lucky to have been nominated for The Liebster Award by the wonderful @thenightgirl. As the last few weeks have been crazy I’ve only just got around to responding – sorry for the delay!

  • Each nominee must have under 200 followers
  • Thank and link to the nominated blog
  • Answer their 10 questions and propose 10 new ones for your nominees
  • Nominate 10 blogs and tell them that they have been nominated
  • Write a post containing the questions
  • Include these rules in the post

1. Tell me about your favourite book genre? or sub genres? Why is it your favourite?

Fantasy will always be my favourite genre. I grew up with books full of magic, amazing creatures and fantastical worlds. Once I moved onto Adult Literature I was disappointed by the distinct lack of dragons and sorceresses and quests and the like. Being directed to the Fantasy and Sci-Fi section of the library was a god-send and has been my home ever since.

I love this genre in particular because in Fantasy novels the possibilities are endless. It gives an intriguing slant on the world and frees authors to speculate more than in any other genre. I think that’s what I particularly love about Fantasy – the world building and the endless possibilities.

2. Do you have any other passions? if so, what are they?

I’ve got a very eclectic range of interests and I have been known to frequently get lost down the rabbit hole of research. Although I have to admit that I particularly love creating things.

I am an artist, a cook, a baker, a knitter, a crocheter, a linguist, a lover of stories of any description, a genealogist, an amateur historian, a music lover and I’ve also always loved genetics. I dropped science after GCSEs (They just don’t let you take enough A Levels *flails*) but I keep up an amateur interest.

Also lists, I’m incredibly reliant on lists.

3. Favourite summer activity that isn’t reading?

That’s hard, but I’m going to say drawing. Living in England we have so many grey days throughout the year, but come summer the light usually improves. Once it does I have to take advantage whilst I can, before I go back to drawing by the light of a laptop screen.

4. How do you feel about gardening?

My dad’s an avid gardener and my great Uncle was a florist. I have not yet followed in family tradition, but I think it’s fairly inevitable. I love all plants – fresh fruit and vegetables, herbs and spices are pivotal to good cooking. I’ve always loved flowers as well, they’re beautiful to draw and always brighten up the house. But I’m asthmatic, so I have to avoid very strongly scented blooms if I can.

5. Do you believe in mermaids?

I don’t, but I wish they were real! I loved them as a kid and I’ve drawn them a lot, I really love the alternate mermaids that people are starting to draw: those based on non-European cultures. Everyone used to say I had mermaid hair was younger – it’s very long still, past my waist, but at the moment I’m trying to grow it back to the length I prefer – definitely past my hips and perhaps onto classic length. This shouldn’t take too long as I’m tiny – 5ft 2 if I remember to stand straight and I’m fairly sure a couple of those inches is hair…

6. What historical period of time do you think you would have liked to live in?

I’m quite happy where I am really. I love history and I’ve always been particularly fascinated by the 1700’s in particular. But I’m very aware how lucky I am, as a woman, to be living in the 21st century where I have much more freedom and opportunities. It’s not a perfect world – far from it – but much better than in previous years.

7. Do you prefer stand alone books or trilogies or even series?

I’m a big fan of book series like Discworld, the Matthew Swift novels or the Dresden Files. A series where books build up into a bigger picture but stand up really well on their own as well. That said, I love a good stand alone novel and some of my favourites fall into this category. I suppose it depends on my mood.

8.If you could choose a best friend from a book (e.g. what main characters best friend would you want to be your best friend) who would it be and from what book?

I think it would probably be Kasia from Uprooted – Agnieska’s best friend. I think by now my love of Uprooted is fairly blatant. To be honest I’d love to have both of those characters as friends. They’re really interesting and layered and strong in their own ways.

9. If you could acquire any type of skill in the world, what would it be?

I wish I could play the piano. I can a little already, but I’m self taught and what I know is largely from Youtube videos or by ear. I don’t have a good enough grounding in the basics which makes things more difficult and I’ve got tiny hands so it’s a heck of a stretch sometimes. Maybe I just need a piano with smaller keys…

10. Do you judge books by their covers?

I have to admit that I do. Well, at least in the sense of what catches my eye. I can’t read through the entirety of a bookshelf’s blurbs looking for new authors, so I do tend to pick up books based off interesting covers and intriguing titles then give the blurb a shot. I think Artwork is an integral part of any book – maybe that’s the artist in me speaking – but if you’ve got an interesting – and above all appropriate – book cover then you’re already part of the way there.

—-

Questions

  1. You Can invite 3 people living or dead to dinner – who would you invite and why?
  2. What is your favourite poem and why?
  3. What did you want to be when you were a kid? For that matter what do you want to do now?
  4. Tell me a joke – any joke – as cheesy as you like!
  5. You can have any animal in the world for a pet – what do you have and what do you call it?
  6. Favourite Film/ Worst Film – why?
  7. Describe yourself in one word.
  8. What would your Superpower be?
  9. What Country do you most want to visit?
  10. You can give three book recommendations – what are they?

Nominations – I managed 8:

1. @themoormaiden

2. @Raspberryreader

3. @theliterarycounsellor

4. @spaceandsorcery

5. @thebastardtitle

6. @thegirlwithherheadinabook

7. @snowflakesandspidersilk

8. @thelocalmuse

4 thoughts on “The Liebster Award Nomination

Leave a Reply

