Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Recently Acquired Books

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

I have acquired a ridiculous number of library books recently so I’m going to try and even this out – four library, four bought poetry and two bought novels.

First, four library books:

th_b_bennett_cityofstairs_UK

  1. City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

I have tried and failed to get my hands on this in the past but, in my traditional pre-library trip checking of the online catalogue, I was excited to find a copy at the Harris. I’ve seen good reviews of it all over the place so I’m very excited to get into this one. Although I have to admit that the first couple of times I saw it at Waterstones I thought it was called City of Stars due to the lovely but confusing cover design.

18667112

  1. The Copper Promise by Jen Williams

Another one that I’ve had my eye on for a while but have only just got my hands on a copy. I nearly bought it from Waterstones a few months ago but ended up settling on The Oversight instead. Thankfully, it was Lancashire Libraries to the rescue once more and I’m glad to be starting a new series. This is also my current read – not counting the mountain of books and poetry collections I’m already part way through….

21416690

  1. The Invisible Library by Genivieve Cogman

Another nearly purchase that never quite happened. I like the premise, I like the cover and I’m excited to give it a go! This is also a library copy, I’m increasingly inclined towards trying out first time read authors in this manner. Try before you buy is one of the greatest advantages of the library system! Also, I simply don’t have the funds or the space to get all the books I want.

61JcfPUI0jL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

  1. Not Forgetting the Whale by John Ironmonger

Ain’t that cover art just beautiful? Another first time read for me, I’d never even heard of Ironmonger before but I really like the blurb and anything that does restore my faith in humanity is always going to be welcomed. Plus – mysteriously appearing whales!

Four bought poetry collections…

24256_books_origjpg

5. Paper Aeroplane: Selected Poems 1989-2014 by Simon Armitage

Bought and signed by Mr Armitage at his reading at Grasmere on the 30th of June (Review of the event appearing later today). This is a collection thrumming with dark humour, canny details and a very northern streak. Very much looking forward to finishing it.

41VfHrSuP+L__SX327_BO1,204,203,200_

6. Ship of the Line by Penny Boxall

I’ve heard of Penny before, but I hadn’t read her full collection. I managed to get a signed copy after meeting her at Dorothy Wordsworth’s Canada Day Poetry Party 2015 (Review also pending). She was lovely and the poems she read were really interesting so I’m looking forward to reading the rest of the collection.

9781844718672frcvr.indd

7.Natural Histories by Emily Hasler

An incredibly strong first pamphlet and another signed copy from #DWCDPP15. Emily was really good to talk to and very enthusiastic about Grasmere. I’ve got a lot of poetry on the go at the moment, but once I finally finish digesting Damian Walford Davies’ two collections this is next to be added to the list.

41UHZKQ5k+L__SX315_BO1,204,203,200_

8. The Kingdom After by Megan Fernandes

My final #DWCDPP15 purchase and yet another signed copy. I restricted myself to three collections and Megan’s was the only Canadian poet out of the three (though I was eyeing up the other collections mournfully). She was reading in the first panel and I just loved her imagery and the really strong voices in her poetry, so this purchase was a no brainer for me.

Two bought novels….

51KDTH92j1L__SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

  1. Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

An inevitable Amazon purchase and one of the rare occasions where I actually really like the post-adaptation cover. It’s in  lovely shades of blue – particularly loving the iridescent blue raven on the spine. I’m well on my way to finishing this – just over a 100 pages left and it’s been very well travelled. It’s been my train book to Grasmere and back on two occasions, once to Chester and it’s been down to Wimbledon too! Love it every bit as much as the adaptation. Clarke’s narrative style is wonderful.

51YK60QQsUL__SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

10. The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell

Another Amazon purchase, for just under £4 it had to be done. I’m very behind in my David Mitchell reading. The only book of his that I’ve read was Cloud Atlas many years ago but I remember loving it. Beautiful cover art again and an intriguing premise.

Anyone read any of these?

6 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Recently Acquired Books

Leave a Reply

