The Cinderella Tag

Hoh I have a million other posts to do and I should be doing them – this is going to be another Many-post day and I’m finally going to try and catch up on my comment replies – and yet this tag caught my eye and I had to do it. There’s some really thought provoking questions in this…

Many thanks to Jess @themoormaiden for tagging me in her post!

Evil Stepsisters

A book with a character you hate

Publications%20ROTK%20Oscar%20Book%20Cover

The Lord of The Rings – Denethor

This is probably heavily influenced by John Noble’s brilliant portrayal of him in the films. But he always struck me as just incredibly cold, dismissive and selfish. His city is being destroyed around him, his son is working himself to death and he is doing an excellent impression of Emperor Nero. I am aware that he’s meant to be grieving but his treatment of Faramir always just appalled me. Not on sir, not on.

Prince Charming

A book with a gentleman

9781408856888

The Gentleman with the Thistledown hair

Possibly not the type of gentleman the tag intended… But the Gentleman with Thistledown hair is brilliant – and evil in a peculiarly fae sort of way. I like him in both incarnations – Marc Warren’s portrayal of him in the TV adaptation and the original book. Clarke managed to make him so wonderfully ‘Other’, I’m not quite sure how she managed to strike that perfect balance between flamboyantly magical and incredibly sinister but she does it with a great deal of flair.

Cinderella

A character that is graceful, kind and defiant

neverwhere-book-cover

The Lady Door

Oh how I love Door, she suffers so much but she still manages to be so brilliant. Neverwhere is one of the few books that are brilliant on their own but I also long for a sequel to. It’s rare that a book can be both of those things to me and I think it’s largely because I want to follow more of Door’s story and her search for her sister.

Fairy Godmother

A character who always has someone looking out for them

rivers of london

PC Peter Grant

God Bless Peter. Bouncing blindly from one situation to another and trying so hard to get it right. He frequently slips up, whether by biting off a bit more than he can chew or simply never being given all the facts in the first place. He’s also incredibly aware of the fact that he needs Nightingale, Lesley, Beverley etc. to keep him from sticking his foot very firmly in his mouth. I find his frank self awareness about needing help incredibly refreshing. I always think it’s utterly unbelievable that someone would fall into an entirely new world and know how to navigate all the potential pitfalls.

Helpful Creatures

Something that makes you happy when you’re sad

men-at-arms-2

Discworld

I love Discworld so much. The entire thing is magnificent and witty and poignant and hilarious. There’s a line in there for every occasion and I frequently have to restrain myself from quoting it at inopportune moments. It’s particularly applicable in those moments when things all just go belly up and fall in accordance with sod’s law. As such remembering quotes from it always makes me smile, even if I’ve just done my usual and collided with some stationary object. I’m really looking forward to re-reading it this summer.

Ashes

A book you didn’t care for

Touch of power

Maria Snyder – Touch of power

I reviewed this here but I just couldn’t get into it. I always get really frustrated when a book has a brilliant concept but just never really gets developed – this was one of those.

Pumpkin

A character with a transformation

Neville

Neville Longbottom

I’m afraid that I’m going to have to duplicate Jess’ choice here because I LOVE Neville, Rowling gave him such a brilliant arc. It was wonderful to see him grow book on book and he developed in a way that was very true to his original character  and  became his own type of hero. One day I hope to read a book following him, Ginny and Luna through their seventh year – I think it would be a brilliant read.

Impossible

Book with an ending you didn’t see coming

Moriarty

Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz

I finished this book with the compelling urge to *headdesk* and a lot of author admiration. It’s very rare that I don’t at least have some inkling of what’s coming up in a book like this – and although I was aware that all was not as it first appeared I still didn’t see it coming. I take my hat off to Mr Horowitz.

Just Breathe

Something that inspires you to be courageous

9781907773211frcvr.indd

Articles from established writers

I’m developing an increasing love of writers writing about writing – try saying that three times fast. Hearing from people who’ve already been published, who have already done what I’m trying to do now is incredibly helpful. I’m a novice at this really and sometimes you need someone in the know to tell you it’s ok to be worried, ok to get it wrong and to reiterate that unless you keep trying you’re never going to get anywhere.

Happily Ever After

A book with a perfect ending

Uprooted-

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

I think my love for this book is incredibly obvious by now. That is all.

Tagged:

@A Dance With Books

@The Literary Counsellor

@Bibliophilian

Leave a Reply

