Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten hyped (Fantasy) books I’ve never read

 

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

I am so behind on my posting schedule that it is unreal. This is largely due to the fact that I have been to a lot of different events in the past fortnight and I’ve been all over the country. I’m currently writing and posting this in my lunch break at the wonderful Fantastika conference at Lancaster University. I will get up to speed with my posts soon but it will probably be next week when about 20 appear at once…

I’m severely behind on the classics so this list would be far, far too long if I tried to incorporate all of fiction I’m missing out on. As such I’ve been specific and narrowed it down to the Fantasy genre. This one was really interesting as it helped my build up my to-read list and also in admitting that there’s some books that are just never going to happen for me.

Percy-Jackson-The-Lightning-Thief-Original-Cover

  1. Percy Jackson and The Olympians #1: The Lightning Thief – Rick Riordan

This series seemed to pass me by somehow and I really do mean to eventually read it – I like the concept and a lot of people have recommended it to me.

55723

  1. Every book ever written by David and Leigh Eddings

(apart from the chunky Belgarath and Polgara books that I occasionally use as a doorstop)

I have tried – I swear I have. But I can’t get into it – again probably a prime offence for Fantasy book lovers. I just can’t do it – my mum bought me the aforementioned two books for my birthday several years ago. My mum has a tried and tested method for buying me books – buy the thickest, newest, fantasy release you can find and hope for the best (my mother knows me too well) This is one of the rare occasions where that tactic has failed.

the-eye-of-the-world-robert-jordan-uk

  1. Wheel of Time – Robert Jordan

The reason I haven’t read these was my unfinished series rule. Now that the series has been finished I am going to have to get round to it eventually. If only because if I don’t my boyfriend is going to be really really disappointed in me as he was addicted to them.

final-empire

  1. Mistborn – Brandon Sanderson

Indeed, everything by Brandon Sanderson. I will rectify this eventually when I’m in the mood for another big series but the urge hasn’t struck me yet. Thankfully, when the urge finally strikes I’ll be able to borrow them off my boyfriend – I think bookcase exchange is an important part of any relationship

Game_of_thrones

  1. A Song of Ice and Fire – George RR Martin

It’s now a policy of mine never to read a series that is unfinished = or at least one that doesn’t have a final book coming out soon. The TV series has caught up with – and deviated majorly from – the books now (arggggh Sansa nooooo) so I may give it a shot. But only if I have absolutely nothing else to read and a need for depression.

51ioQrHH0QL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

  1. The Divergent Series – Veronica Roth

The concept intrigued me and I’ve tried the movie but I couldn’t make it all the way through. A friend of mine warned me off them early on by telling me the end and I have a feeling that I’m well out of it.

Throne_of_Glass_UK

  1. The Throne of Glass series – Sarah J Maas

I’m intrigued by this and there seems to be a lot of love for it out there but I’ve never even picked it up. I’m going to give it a go the next time I see a copy of the first book at the library but it’s not one I’m in any hurry to run out and read. I’m also VERY wary of the review of later books regarding the love triangle angle – I DO NOT do love triangles.

dune_book_cover_by_closerinternal-d3g9lzj

  1. Dune – Frank Herbert

I’ve seen the film, which I believe was superb in and of its time, but I’ve got a feeling that the book’s worth the page count. It’s one of those classics of the genre that I really feel quite ashamed about not reading but I don’t fancy the sequels or the books in the universe written by his son. I’m always very wary of series’ being continued by family members of deceased writers. I’d be more interested in seeing some of their own stuff.

10762697

  1. Everything ever written by Robin Hobb

For pretty much the same reasons as Brandon Sanderson – they somehow just passed me by and her body of work is now so huge that I’m feeling very cautious about approaching it.

815D5sneiNL__SL1500_

  1. The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

This one I actually own – I bought it for £2 at the checkout at Waterstones – but has never made it off my shelves. I have an aim to read every book I own at the moment so this is coming up on my list once I make a bit more of a dint in my library pile.

On a side note I’ve just had a glance at the next few weeks worth of topics that are coming up – I’m really excited!

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten hyped (Fantasy) books I’ve never read

  1. Great list, Natalie! I hope you’re enjoying the Fantasika Conference – I’m very jealous that I can’t be there. >=[ I really need to read the Percy Jackson series, too, and I recommend The Night Circus – I think you’d like it! I DNFed Divergent and Throne of Glass, they’re just not my cup of tea, but I do want to read the Mistborn trilogy. Like you I haven’t read any Brandon Sanderson yet.

    Like

  2. Reading the David Eddings books can be hard if you are an avid fantasy reader, because most of the story is going to seem cliché. I was lucky enough to read them when I was much younger and still hadn’t read much fantasy, so they are nostalgic favourites. I personally like The Mallorean better than The Belgariad series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

