Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For the Rest of 2015

 

2

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

I had to slash at this one a little, as in my latest library raids I found out a lot of the books I wanted to read were there in hardback and I’d mixed up paperback publication dates with hardback *headdesk*

PC GrantShepherd'sParadox

1. The Hanging Tree – Ben Aaronovitch 19/11/2015

As intriguing as watching Peter out of his element was in Foxglove Summer I’m really looking forward to getting back to London and the other inhabitants of the Folly. I did a re-read of the series so far before finally getting round to reading Foxglove Summer back in February and am now keen to engage in more magical London mayhem.

2. The Shepherd’s Crown – Terry Pratchett 10/9/2015

I think I may cry when I finish this. I can’t believe this is the last book I’ll read from him and his wonderful brain. But I’m glad it’s a Discworld novel and I’m glad it’s Tiffany Aching. I adored I shall Wear Midnight and felt it would have made a fitting end to Tiffany’s story, but there were elements – especially the crossover with Equal Rites – that deserved resolving.

3. The Paradox – Charlie Fletcher 18/8/2015

Oh Lord, I am so excited for this. I was utterly gripped by the first book – the review can be found here – and I’m really eager to drop back in with the Oversight and see what’s going on. At the end of The Oversight things were left very much on a cliff hanger and I’m hoping that in addition to progressing the plot Fletcher will flesh out the history of the Oversight a little more.

WinterinfragreenUnsettlingWonder

4. Winter – Marissa Meyer

I had the first three of The Lunar Chronicles on order from the library = three books for £1.70 isn’t bad eh? Got them on the afternoon of June 1st, finished them on the morning of Wednesday 3rd. Brilliant read  you can find my review Here (Link coming soon). I suspect that Winter is going to be on a lot of lists this week as this brilliant series speeds along to a close. I’m really excited about the narrative finally moving to Lunar properly too!

5. Infragreen – Kate Bingham June 2015

I’m looking forward to this one – I’m always intrigued by the weirdness of the everyday and it sounds like this poetry collection is planning to explore that in some intriguing ways. I’m sad that there’s only one Poetry Collection on here – but a lot of the ones I was excited about seem to have come out already. 2015 seems to have been very front-loaded as it were with regards to new books. Hopefully I’ll discover some more as the year progresses.

6. The Museum of Shadows and Reflections by Claire Dean – Late 2015

I’m really excited about this. There’s some fascinating stuff coming out of independent presses at the moment and Unsettling Wonder manages to strike a balance between really beautiful art and fantastic writing. I first met Claire as a previous Producer at Litfest a few years ago and only really knew her as a writer when she read at the festival last year. Since then I’ve liked everything of her’s that I’ve read and I think her fairytale collection will be beautiful. There’s no cover yet so I’m using on of Laura Rae’s illustrations, she’s worked for Unsettling Wonder before and I really hope she’s done some work on Claire’s collecton.

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Most Anticipated Releases For the Rest of 2015

Leave a Reply

