Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as Movies/ TV Shows

 

2

   Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly feature run by The Broke and the Bookish. Each week you compile a list of ten books that fit with the theme. All the details and how to join are available here.

I’ve seen this floating around on a few of my friends blogs and I’ve been dying to do it, so here’s my first attempt!

men-at-arms-2The miniaturistCFAnansi Boysthe-truth_paperback_josh-kirby_3d

1. Discworld Series (The Watch books) – Terry Pratchett

I know that Sky have adapted the Hogfather/the Colour of Magic but neither of those really worked for me – David Jason (british classic though he may be) is just WRONG as Rincewind, actually the casting for that one was just wrong fullstop – why on earth was the tourist Sam Gamgee? Going Postal got it better for me – I LOVED the casting for this and it was a good adaptation. But the Watch books are my favourite – the only thing that annoyed me about the Going Postal adaptation was Angua (who i love dearly) just didn’t have enough sass or screentime.

2. The Miniaturist – Jess Burton

Considering the success this book has had I think this will probably happen anyway. It should happen. Because it’s fantastic, the array of characters contained within it. The sheer detail and presence of the world that she’s built. A lot of books that get shouted about I end up finding really disappointing – not so with this one – as I was reading it I just kept thinking, this needs an adaptation DESPERATELY. I’d be particularly fascinated to see who they cast as Marin because she’s so incredibly complex.

3. Inkheart – Cornelia Funke

Yes there’s already a film. But I am in denial about that fact. I put off watching it for years because my fellow inkworld-lovers were so disappointed by it, I finally watched it and – as expected – joined their ranks pretty quickly. It’s one of those films that if you’ve never read the original it probably seems like a decent adaptation – but having read the book and knowing what had been changed you know it could have been so much more. This book was hugely important to me as a young teenager and I think it needs to be adapted properly because it’s such a wonderful book.

4. Anansi Boys – Neil Gaiman

I adore this book and would be intrigued to see how an adaptation dealt with all the non-western myths incorporated into it. Aside from the main narrative there are all the side stories of Anansi’s adventures, I think there would be a chance for some very cool interspliced animation like ‘The Tale of the Three Brothers’ in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.

5. The Truth – Terry Pratchett

Another Discworld choice. This one stands alone brilliantly and has such a fantastic cast of charcters. It would give cameo’s to the Watch and Death and makes a great skit on the state of politics and newspapers in our world. Plus Deep Bone/Trixie – come on that would be hilarious on screen. I think it would have to be done as a TV series though, I don’t think it would work as a film, but as a TV series you could have all the side stories and then a really, really satisfying finale.

Cry of the icemarkCity of Maskskg 1chris ridellsotl_uk04reiss

6. The Cry of the Icemark – Stuart Hill

I loved this book as a kid. It was so refreshing to have a female heroine who was war-like and adjusting to the complexities of ruling a kingdom whilst her male counterpart was the magical pacifist. I couldn’t really get into the rest of the series but this book will always have a special place in my heart and I think it could be a brilliant TV series.

7. City of Masks – Mary Hoffman (Stravaganza Series)

Another one for the young un’s. This book was so magical to me the first time I read it. The concept was brilliant, the characters were engaging and I really think it would make a beautiful TV series. The characters backgrounds were all very original and the ending was brilliant, my young heart was in my mouth. It’s one of those rare young adult books where both the children and the adults come across well. They all have failings and they all have good points. When they work together it creates something magical.

8. Matthew Swift Novels – Kate Griffin

I think these would make brilliant films – especially the Midnight Mayor – but something would be lost without the incredibly unique narrative style so I would be intrigued to see how they dealt with that. Besides, surely the glory of Penny the traffic-warden-turned-magician alone should result in an adaptation?! Some of the reviews of the series describe it as ‘Neverwhere for the digital age’ and I can kinda see where they’re going with that. Besides, at the moment British TV is seriously lacking in Urban Fantasy….I can’t actually think of any….

9. The Edge Chronicles – Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell

I devoured these books as a kid – they’re not like anything else and the level of detail that went into the world-building is really kinda humbling for me as a writer. The only issue I can see here is that Chris Riddell’s illustrations are just so iconic that they’d have to be really careful with casting and special effects and the like. Unless Chris Riddell feels like doing an animated movie or 9? In which case I really wouldn’t argue…

10. Song of the Lioness – Tamora Pierce

Quite why no one has done an adaptation of the Tortall books yet I do not know. I’d love to see this as a big series of films. They’re such compelling characters and there’s this wonderful combination of plot and humour that would surely appeal to the masses? Tamora Pierce excels in world-building and I’d love to see all that rich detail portrayed in an adaptation on the big screen.

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday – Top Ten Books I’d Love to See as Movies/ TV Shows

  1. Nice list, Natalie! I agree the Inkheart film was SUCH a disappointment, although I did like some of the casting choices; Brendan Fraser was a pretty decent Mo and I liked Paul Bettany as Dustfinger, but Meggie left something to be desired. As did pretty much everything else.

    I haven’t read Anansi Boys yet, but I am very excited about Bryan Fuller’s adaptation of American Gods. 🙂 Here’s hoping they cast Jason Momoa as Shadow!

    Like

  2. I watched the movie Inkheart recently again, and though I haven’t read the book yet, I’m not too fond of it. It makes me want to read the book even more. 🙂
    City of Masks would translate very nice on screen. Great list!

    Like

Leave a Reply

