Blogging from A-Z – The Fire Within by Chris D’Lacey and Collected Poems by Michael Donaghy

D

Fiction choice:

The_Fire_Within_cover

The Fire Within

Chris D’Lacey

Another Oldy but a goody, I’ve been rereading a lot of the children’s lit I liked as a kid at the moment as I’m considering jumping in there myself – though I think Ladybird Winter will probably be for early teens. Again, I adored the concept of this, the story within the story and just the characters generally. I never finished the series, I think I got five books in but one day I hope to finish it as it captivated me as a kid. Also DRAGONS.

Poetry choice:

Michael Donaghy Collected Poem

Collected Poems

Michael Donaghy

I have only really read Donaghy over the last couple of years after a tutor read us one of his poems – ‘The Break’. Whilst it is at its heart a poem about break up, it also draws imagery from Daisy and Violet Hilton: a pair of Siamese Twins who ran the Vaudeville circuit in the 1920’s/30’s. The final image in ‘The Break’ sold Donaghy to me forevermore and the rest of his work doesn’t disappoint: ‘Daisy, Violet, you are a girl at a dance/resting for a moment, against a mirror’.

One thought on “Blogging from A-Z – The Fire Within by Chris D’Lacey and Collected Poems by Michael Donaghy

Leave a Reply

