Book Review – The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

The Bone Season

The Bone Season

Samantha Shannon

Rating: 3 1/2 Stars

EVEN A DREAMER CAN START A REVOLUTION Nineteen-year-old Paige Mahoney works in the criminal underworld of Scion London. Her job: to scout for information by breaking into people’s minds. For Paige is a dreamwalker, a clairvoyant and, in the world of Scion, she commits treason simply by breathing…

This one has been in my to read pile since October 2014 and as it’s a library book it’s been renewed a ridiculous amount of times, so I really had to bite the bullet and get it read. I was fairly sure I was going to like it as the blurb sounded right up my street and in many ways I did really enjoy it. However, I did have quite a few issues with it.

The opening section in particular felt very exposition heavy and this carried on throughout the book.  I will admit that it was interesting exposition, but it never really solved the fact that I kept mixing up all the different types of clairvoyant. There was a handy chart at the front and a partial glossary at the back but this didn’t help with all the slang terms for each type.

Another quibble was Warden. I didn’t have an issue with him as a character, it was actually very interesting having a male consort to a female ruler. But I found his relationship with Paige problematic. It always was going to be a bit rocky with regard to the power dynamic, but I found it quite plausible once they got on more of an even keel. My real issue is that,  although it progressed in an interesting manner at first, it just went ridiculously fast at the end. I would have been more interested if things had gone slower.

There were definite pacing issues throughout the book. It moves quite slow until Paige gets out of London, then the middle was really interesting and the ending felt very rushed. I’m hoping this is resolved in the sequel as it was a very intriguing world!

Overall I thought you could really feel that it was a set up book and I have a strong feeling that it’s going to really explode in the next one – I’m waiting to nab the sequel on my next library trip.

Leave a Reply

